{"schema_version":"1.0","dataset":"dcdc","generated":"2026-09-17","note":"generated is the build date, not a verification date; every record carries its own checked dates","count":6,"site":"https://leisurepowercheck.co.uk","records":[{"id":"ctek-d250se","brand":"CTEK","model":"D250SE","name":"CTEK D250SE dual input 20A DC-DC charger with MPPT","aliases":["CTEK D250SE 40-315","D250SE Dual"],"official_url":"https://ctek.com/products/d250se","summary":"20 A dual-input (alternator and solar) DC-DC charger with an 11.5-23 V input and selectable lead-acid / AGM / LiFePO4 output voltages. CTEK publishes a smart-alternator statement and a cable and fuse table; its smart-alternator mode is enabled by connecting the red cable to an ignition (+15) signal.","output_a":20,"output_a_configurable":null,"input_voltage_window_v":[11.5,23],"isolated":null,"ignition_trigger":"either","engine_detection_thresholds":null,"lithium_profile":"published","profiles":[{"chemistry":"flooded_lead_acid","published":true,"wording":"Battery types: 12 V: WET, MF, Ca/Ca, AGM, EFB, GEL, LiFePO4"},{"chemistry":"calcium","published":true,"wording":"Ca/Ca"},{"chemistry":"agm","published":true,"wording":"Selectable AGM option - 14.4V or 14.7V"},{"chemistry":"efb","published":true,"wording":"EFB"},{"chemistry":"gel","published":true,"wording":"GEL"},{"chemistry":"lifepo4","published":true,"wording":"14.2 V, 20 A, LiFePO4."}],"mppt_input":true,"smart_alternator_statement":{"published":true,"wording":"The D250SE can maintain a stable output up to 20A to vehicles fitted with smart ECU controlled alternators and also has a temperature sensor for optimised charging, regardless of weather conditions."},"lithium_statement":{"published":true,"wording":"The D250SE and SMARTPASS 120S have been developed for 12V lead-acid and LFP batteries. Do not use the unit for any other type of battery."},"manufacturer_cable_fuse_table":{"published":true,"url":"https://ctek.com/cdn/shop/files/D250SE-manual-low-UK-EN.pdf","clause":"CABLE AND FUSE REQUIREMENTS","wording":"UNIT D250SE, CABLE +IN, MIN. CABLE SIZE 0.5 m 4 mm2 / 1 m 4 mm2 / 2 m 4 mm2 / 5 m 6 mm2 / 10 m 10 mm2, FUSE 30A"},"manufacturer_wiring_diagram_url":"https://ctek.com/cdn/shop/files/D250SE-manual-low-UK-EN.pdf","price_band_gbp":[257,257],"price_band_checked":"2026-09-16","retailers":[{"merchant":"12-volt-planet","name":"12 Volt Planet","url":"https://www.12voltplanet.co.uk/ctek-d250se-dual-input-dc-dc-charger-mppt-solar-controller.html","affiliate":false,"price_gbp":257,"price_checked":"2026-09-16","checked":"2026-09-16"}],"sources":[{"field_group":"output_a","url":"https://ctek.com/cdn/shop/files/D250SE-productsheet-low-UK-EN.pdf","document_title":"D250SE Dual input 20A charger with selectable charge voltages (product sheet)","document_date":null,"document_edition":"CTEK SWEDEN AB, 2024 | EN","checked":"2026-09-16","evidence":"manufacturer","hosted_by":"manufacturer","quote":"OUTPUT 14.4/14.7 V, 20 A, lead-acid battery types. 14.2 V, 20 A, LiFePO4.","clause":"TECHNICAL DATA"},{"field_group":"input_voltage_window_v","url":"https://ctek.com/cdn/shop/files/D250SE-productsheet-low-UK-EN.pdf","document_title":"D250SE Dual input 20A charger with selectable charge voltages (product sheet)","document_date":null,"document_edition":"CTEK SWEDEN AB, 2024 | EN","checked":"2026-09-16","evidence":"manufacturer","hosted_by":"manufacturer","quote":"INPUT 11.5-23 V, 25 A","clause":"TECHNICAL DATA"},{"field_group":"ignition_trigger","url":"https://ctek.com/cdn/shop/files/D250SE-manual-low-UK-EN.pdf","document_title":"User manual CTEK DC/DC battery charger D250SE & SMARTPASS 120S","document_date":null,"checked":"2026-09-16","evidence":"manufacturer","hosted_by":"manufacturer","quote":"Smart alternator cable (red) / Type of alternator: Not connected - Conventional alternator; Connected - Smart alternator ... Smart alternator cable (red) - Ignition signal, +15 clamp (DIN 72552)","clause":"SETTINGS D250SE / SYMBOLS AND TERMINALS","note":"Conventional-alternator mode: 'This function is switched off when the engine is not running to prevent discharge of the starter battery.' Smart-alternator mode requires the red cable to an ignition signal, hence 'either'."},{"field_group":"engine_detection_thresholds","url":"https://ctek.com/cdn/shop/files/D250SE-manual-low-UK-EN.pdf","document_title":"User manual CTEK DC/DC battery charger D250SE & SMARTPASS 120S","document_date":null,"checked":"2026-09-16","evidence":"manufacturer","hosted_by":"manufacturer","absent":true,"note":"The manual describes engine-running detection but states no voltage thresholds in the sections read."},{"field_group":"lithium_profile","url":"https://ctek.com/cdn/shop/files/D250SE-productsheet-low-UK-EN.pdf","document_title":"D250SE Dual input 20A charger with selectable charge voltages (product sheet)","document_date":null,"document_edition":"CTEK SWEDEN AB, 2024 | EN","checked":"2026-09-16","evidence":"manufacturer","hosted_by":"manufacturer","quote":"Selectable lithium* and lead-acid mode ... *) 12V lithium batteries (LiFePO4, Li-Fe, Li-iron, LFP)"},{"field_group":"profiles","url":"https://ctek.com/cdn/shop/files/D250SE-productsheet-low-UK-EN.pdf","document_title":"D250SE Dual input 20A charger with selectable charge voltages (product sheet)","document_date":null,"document_edition":"CTEK SWEDEN AB, 2024 | EN","checked":"2026-09-16","evidence":"manufacturer","hosted_by":"manufacturer","quote":"BATTERY TYPES 12 V: WET, MF, Ca/Ca, AGM, EFB, GEL, LiFePO4","clause":"TECHNICAL DATA"},{"field_group":"mppt_input","url":"https://ctek.com/cdn/shop/files/D250SE-productsheet-low-UK-EN.pdf","document_title":"D250SE Dual input 20A charger with selectable charge voltages (product sheet)","document_date":null,"document_edition":"CTEK SWEDEN AB, 2024 | EN","checked":"2026-09-16","evidence":"manufacturer","hosted_by":"manufacturer","quote":"Solar panel regulator with Maximum Power Point Tracking (MPPT)"},{"field_group":"smart_alternator_statement","url":"https://ctek.com/cdn/shop/files/D250SE-productsheet-low-UK-EN.pdf","document_title":"D250SE Dual input 20A charger with selectable charge voltages (product sheet)","document_date":null,"document_edition":"CTEK SWEDEN AB, 2024 | EN","checked":"2026-09-16","evidence":"manufacturer","hosted_by":"manufacturer","quote":"The D250SE can maintain a stable output up to 20A to vehicles fitted with smart ECU controlled alternators and also has a temperature sensor for optimised charging, regardless of weather conditions.","note":"Manual wording: 'Charging of a service battery from a smart alternator (with variable charging voltage). The D250SE can charge a service battery at up to 20A from the starter battery when a smart alternator is running. This function is switched off when the engine is not running, so as not to discharge the starter battery.' Neither document uses the words 'Euro 6'."},{"field_group":"lithium_statement","url":"https://ctek.com/cdn/shop/files/D250SE-manual-low-UK-EN.pdf","document_title":"User manual CTEK DC/DC battery charger D250SE & SMARTPASS 120S","document_date":null,"checked":"2026-09-16","evidence":"manufacturer","hosted_by":"manufacturer","quote":"The D250SE and SMARTPASS 120S have been developed for 12V lead-acid and LFP batteries. Do not use the unit for any other type of battery.","clause":"SAFETY","note":"Also: 'WARNING! Check manual of Lithium-ion battery before installing'."},{"field_group":"manufacturer_cable_fuse_table","url":"https://ctek.com/cdn/shop/files/D250SE-manual-low-UK-EN.pdf","document_title":"User manual CTEK DC/DC battery charger D250SE & SMARTPASS 120S","document_date":null,"checked":"2026-09-16","evidence":"manufacturer","hosted_by":"manufacturer","quote":"CABLE AND FUSE REQUIREMENTS / MIN. CABLE SIZE / UNIT CABLE 0.5 m 1 m 2 m 5 m 10 m FUSE / +IN 4 mm2/ 4 mm2/ 4 mm2/ 6 mm2/ 10 mm2/ 30A","clause":"CABLE AND FUSE REQUIREMENTS","note":"Table cells transcribed in reading order from the PDF; the site links the table and does not reproduce it."},{"field_group":"price_band_gbp","url":"https://www.12voltplanet.co.uk/ctek-d250se-dual-input-dc-dc-charger-mppt-solar-controller.html","document_title":"12 Volt Planet product page","checked":"2026-09-16","evidence":"secondary","hosted_by":"other","quote":"£257.00"}],"gaps":["engine_detection_thresholds"],"open_questions":["CTEK's UK business page https://ctek.com/business-uk/battery-chargers-12v-24v/d250se returned 404 on 2026-09-16; the global product page ctek.com/products/d250se and the UK-EN PDFs were used."],"changelog":[{"date":"2026-09-16","field":"seed","new":"record created from the CTEK D250SE product sheet (UK-EN) and the D250SE & SMARTPASS 120S user manual (UK-EN)","source_url":"https://ctek.com/cdn/shop/files/D250SE-productsheet-low-UK-EN.pdf","detected_by":"seed"}],"last_reviewed":"2026-09-16","type":"dcdc","first_checked":"2026-09-16","last_checked":"2026-09-16","age_days":1,"stale":false,"unverified":false,"freshness":"verified","freshness_label":"verified 16 September 2026","absences":[{"gap":"engine_detection_thresholds","line":"No published engine-detection threshold found (checked 16 September 2026).","document_title":"User manual CTEK DC/DC battery charger D250SE & SMARTPASS 120S","url":"https://ctek.com/cdn/shop/files/D250SE-manual-low-UK-EN.pdf"}],"absence_by_gap":{"engine_detection_thresholds":"No published engine-detection threshold found (checked 16 September 2026)."},"source_hosts":["ctek.com","12voltplanet.co.uk"],"distributor_hosted":false,"evidence_grades":["manufacturer","secondary"],"anchor":"#ctek-d250se"},{"id":"redarc-bcdc1225d","brand":"REDARC","model":"BCDC1225D","name":"REDARC BCDC1225D dual input 25A in-vehicle DC-DC battery charger","aliases":["BCDC1225D Classic","REDARC BCDC 1225D"],"official_url":"https://www.redarcelectronics.com/eu/dual-input-25a-in-vehicle-dc-battery-charger","summary":"25 A dual-input (vehicle and solar MPPT) DC-DC charger with a 9-32 V vehicle input. REDARC publishes a variable-voltage / smart-alternator statement, a blue-wire trigger table (voltage trigger, or D+ / ignition trigger for variable-voltage alternators), a LiFePO4 profile and a cable-sizing table.","output_a":25,"output_a_configurable":null,"input_voltage_window_v":[9,32],"isolated":null,"ignition_trigger":"either","engine_detection_thresholds":"Input Mode Standard, Blue Wire Connection Not Connected, or Connected to Ground: 12 V Mode ON above 12.9 V OFF below 12.7 V. Input Mode Low Voltage, Blue Wire Connection D+ for Idle-Stop, 'Ignition' for others: 12 V Mode ON above 12.0 V OFF below 11.9 V. *1 Tested every 100 seconds","lithium_profile":"published","profiles":[{"chemistry":"flooded_lead_acid","published":true,"wording":"Output Battery Type: Standard Lead Acid, Calcium content, Gel, AGM or LiFePO4 type only"},{"chemistry":"calcium","published":true,"wording":"Calcium content"},{"chemistry":"gel","published":true,"wording":"Gel"},{"chemistry":"agm","published":true,"wording":"AGM"},{"chemistry":"lifepo4","published":true,"wording":"Charging Profile Li: Maximum Voltage 14.5 V (LiFePO4); Float stage maintains 13.3 V (13.6 V for LiFePO4) on the output battery"}],"mppt_input":true,"smart_alternator_statement":{"published":true,"wording":"NOTE: The REDARC BCDC Series In-Vehicle chargers are suitable for use on vehicles with conventional alternator charging systems, including standard, variable voltage and idle stop type alternators."},"lithium_statement":{"published":true,"wording":"When using the Battery Charger to charge a Lithium Iron Phosphate (LiFePO4) battery, only batteries with an inbuilt battery management system with under and over voltage protection and cell balancing are suitable."},"manufacturer_cable_fuse_table":{"published":true,"url":"https://cdn.intelligencebank.com/au/share/yE9N/zJpl/oGLrq/original/BCDC+Dual+Input+Instruction+Manual","clause":"2.4 Cable Sizing, Table 2.4.1; Specifications: Vehicle Input Fuse Rating / Output Fuse Rating","wording":"Refer to \"Table 2.4.1: Cable Sizing\" for the Vehicle Input, Solar Input, Ground and Battery Output cable thickness and length requirements. ... BCDC1225D Vehicle Input Fuse Rating 40 A (Not Supplied) REDARC FK40 recommended"},"manufacturer_wiring_diagram_url":"https://cdn.intelligencebank.com/au/share/yE9N/zJpl/oGLrq/original/BCDC+Dual+Input+Instruction+Manual","retailers":[],"sources":[{"field_group":"output_a","url":"https://cdn.intelligencebank.com/au/share/yE9N/zJpl/oGLrq/original/BCDC+Dual+Input+Instruction+Manual","document_title":"BCDC Dual Input Multi-Stage In-Vehicle Battery Charger instruction manual (BCDC1225D, BCDC1240D, BCDC1250D)","document_date":null,"checked":"2026-09-16","evidence":"manufacturer","hosted_by":"manufacturer","quote":"MODELS: BCDC1225D 25 A","clause":"Cover / Specifications","note":"Hosted on REDARC's own digital-asset CDN (intelligencebank), linked from the redarcelectronics.com product page."},{"field_group":"input_voltage_window_v","url":"https://cdn.intelligencebank.com/au/share/yE9N/zJpl/oGLrq/original/BCDC+Dual+Input+Instruction+Manual","document_title":"BCDC Dual Input Multi-Stage In-Vehicle Battery Charger instruction manual","document_date":null,"checked":"2026-09-16","evidence":"manufacturer","hosted_by":"manufacturer","quote":"Vehicle Input Voltage Range 9 to 32 V","clause":"Specifications"},{"field_group":"ignition_trigger","url":"https://cdn.intelligencebank.com/au/share/yE9N/zJpl/oGLrq/original/BCDC+Dual+Input+Instruction+Manual","document_title":"BCDC Dual Input Multi-Stage In-Vehicle Battery Charger instruction manual","document_date":null,"checked":"2026-09-16","evidence":"manufacturer","hosted_by":"manufacturer","quote":"Connect the BLUE wire to switch the vehicle input turn-ON-trigger mode between: Standard Trigger (for fixed voltage or temperature compensating alternators); Low Voltage Trigger (for variable voltage alternators) ... Connect the BLUE wire to D+ for Idle-stop vehicles, or IGN for continuous Idle vehicles.","clause":"2.3 Input Trigger Settings -- Blue Wire"},{"field_group":"engine_detection_thresholds","url":"https://cdn.intelligencebank.com/au/share/yE9N/zJpl/oGLrq/original/BCDC+Dual+Input+Instruction+Manual","document_title":"BCDC Dual Input Multi-Stage In-Vehicle Battery Charger instruction manual","document_date":null,"checked":"2026-09-16","evidence":"manufacturer","hosted_by":"manufacturer","quote":"Standard / Not Connected, or Connected to Ground / 12.9 V 12.7 V / 25.8 V 25.4 V ... Low Voltage / D+ for Idle-Stop 'Ignition' for others / 12.0 V 11.9 V / 24.0 V 23.8 V / *1 Tested every 100 seconds","clause":"Table 2.3.2: Setting the Input Trigger Settings"},{"field_group":"lithium_profile","url":"https://cdn.intelligencebank.com/au/share/yE9N/zJpl/oGLrq/original/BCDC+Dual+Input+Instruction+Manual","document_title":"BCDC Dual Input Multi-Stage In-Vehicle Battery Charger instruction manual","document_date":null,"checked":"2026-09-16","evidence":"manufacturer","hosted_by":"manufacturer","quote":"Charging Profile A B C Li / Maximum Voltage 14.6 V 15.0 V 15.3 V 14.5 V","clause":"Specifications"},{"field_group":"profiles","url":"https://cdn.intelligencebank.com/au/share/yE9N/zJpl/oGLrq/original/BCDC+Dual+Input+Instruction+Manual","document_title":"BCDC Dual Input Multi-Stage In-Vehicle Battery Charger instruction manual","document_date":null,"checked":"2026-09-16","evidence":"manufacturer","hosted_by":"manufacturer","quote":"Output Battery Type Standard Lead Acid, Calcium content, Gel, AGM or LiFePO4 type only","clause":"Specifications"},{"field_group":"mppt_input","url":"https://www.redarcelectronics.com/eu/dual-input-25a-in-vehicle-dc-battery-charger","document_title":"Dual Input 25A In-vehicle DC Battery Charger (REDARC EU product page)","document_date":null,"checked":"2026-09-16","evidence":"manufacturer","hosted_by":"manufacturer","quote":"Maximum Power Point Tracking (MPPT) solar regulator, the BCDC1225D Classic will charge from both solar and the alternator simultaneously"},{"field_group":"smart_alternator_statement","url":"https://cdn.intelligencebank.com/au/share/yE9N/zJpl/oGLrq/original/BCDC+Dual+Input+Instruction+Manual","document_title":"BCDC Dual Input Multi-Stage In-Vehicle Battery Charger instruction manual","document_date":null,"checked":"2026-09-16","evidence":"manufacturer","hosted_by":"manufacturer","quote":"NOTE: The REDARC BCDC Series In-Vehicle chargers are suitable for use on vehicles with conventional alternator charging systems, including standard, variable voltage and idle stop type alternators.","clause":"2 Installation","note":"Product page wording: 'Suits 12V/24V standard and variable voltage/smart alternators'."},{"field_group":"lithium_statement","url":"https://cdn.intelligencebank.com/au/share/yE9N/zJpl/oGLrq/original/BCDC+Dual+Input+Instruction+Manual","document_title":"BCDC Dual Input Multi-Stage In-Vehicle Battery Charger instruction manual","document_date":null,"checked":"2026-09-16","evidence":"manufacturer","hosted_by":"manufacturer","quote":"When using the Battery Charger to charge a Lithium Iron Phosphate (LiFePO4) battery, only batteries with an inbuilt battery management system with under and over voltage protection and cell balancing are suitable.","clause":"2.2 Charging Profile"},{"field_group":"manufacturer_cable_fuse_table","url":"https://cdn.intelligencebank.com/au/share/yE9N/zJpl/oGLrq/original/BCDC+Dual+Input+Instruction+Manual","document_title":"BCDC Dual Input Multi-Stage In-Vehicle Battery Charger instruction manual","document_date":null,"checked":"2026-09-16","evidence":"manufacturer","hosted_by":"manufacturer","quote":"Refer to \"Table 2.4.1: Cable Sizing\" for the Vehicle Input, Solar Input, Ground and Battery Output cable thickness and length requirements. Always choose a wire cross sectional area equal to or","clause":"2.4 Cable Sizing","note":"Product page: 'Input Fuse Rating: 40A (REDARC FK40 recommended); Output Fuse Rating: 40A (REDARC FK40 recommended)'. Table 2.4.1 cell values not transcribed here; the site links the table."}],"gaps":[],"open_questions":["No GBP price was seen on a UK retailer or REDARC UK page on 2026-09-16 (redarcelectronics.com/uk and redarc-electronics.co.uk did not resolve; the EU page shows EUR). price_band_gbp omitted.","Manual edition/date not stated on the pages read."],"changelog":[{"date":"2026-09-16","field":"seed","new":"record created from the REDARC BCDC Dual Input Multi-Stage In-Vehicle Battery Charger instruction manual and the REDARC EU product page","source_url":"https://cdn.intelligencebank.com/au/share/yE9N/zJpl/oGLrq/original/BCDC+Dual+Input+Instruction+Manual","detected_by":"seed"}],"last_reviewed":"2026-09-16","type":"dcdc","first_checked":"2026-09-16","last_checked":"2026-09-16","age_days":1,"stale":false,"unverified":false,"freshness":"verified","freshness_label":"verified 16 September 2026","absences":[],"absence_by_gap":{},"source_hosts":["cdn.intelligencebank.com","redarcelectronics.com"],"distributor_hosted":false,"evidence_grades":["manufacturer"],"anchor":"#redarc-bcdc1225d"},{"id":"ring-rscdc30","brand":"Ring Automotive","model":"RSCDC30","name":"Ring Automotive RSCDC30 DC-DC Smart Battery Charger 30A","aliases":["Ring DC-DC Smart Charger 30A","Ring RSCDC30 B2B"],"official_url":"https://www.ringautomotive.com/en/product/rscdc30","summary":"30 A DC-DC charger with a solar (MPPT) input. Ring's Vehicle Conversion Catalogue states a programmable input voltage range for smart-alternator compatibility and a 12.6-50 V DC input. Ring's instruction PDF is image-only and its product page returned 404, so lithium and cable/fuse statements are unknown.","output_a":30,"output_a_configurable":null,"input_voltage_window_v":[12.6,50],"isolated":null,"ignition_trigger":"unstated","engine_detection_thresholds":null,"lithium_profile":"published_but_unspecified","profiles":[{"chemistry":"user_defined","published":true,"wording":"Programmable for most battery types"}],"mppt_input":true,"smart_alternator_statement":{"published":true,"wording":"It also has a programmable input voltage range to allow compatibility with smart alternators."},"lithium_statement":{"published":false,"wording":null},"manufacturer_cable_fuse_table":{"published":false},"manufacturer_wiring_diagram_url":"https://www.ringautomotive.com/files/mydocs/cat739%20vehicle%20conversion%20low-res.pdf","retailers":[],"sources":[{"field_group":"output_a","url":"https://www.ringautomotive.com/files/mydocs/cat739%20vehicle%20conversion%20low-res.pdf","document_title":"Ring Automotive Vehicle Conversion Catalogue (cat739), DC-DC Smart Battery Charger page","document_date":null,"checked":"2026-09-16","evidence":"manufacturer","hosted_by":"manufacturer","quote":"Part number RSCDC30 ... Max output current 30A","clause":"Specifications UK/Euro"},{"field_group":"input_voltage_window_v","url":"https://www.ringautomotive.com/files/mydocs/cat739%20vehicle%20conversion%20low-res.pdf","document_title":"Ring Automotive Vehicle Conversion Catalogue (cat739), DC-DC Smart Battery Charger page","document_date":null,"checked":"2026-09-16","evidence":"manufacturer","hosted_by":"manufacturer","quote":"Input voltage PV: 10-50V DC: 12.6-50V","clause":"Specifications UK/Euro"},{"field_group":"ignition_trigger","url":"https://www.ringautomotive.com/files/mydocs/cat739%20vehicle%20conversion%20low-res.pdf","document_title":"Ring Automotive Vehicle Conversion Catalogue (cat739), DC-DC Smart Battery Charger page","document_date":null,"checked":"2026-09-16","evidence":"manufacturer","hosted_by":"manufacturer","quote":"A DC-DC Smart Charger is able to take energy from DC sources such as a vehicle alternator or solar panel then convert it to a multi-stage output for charging an auxiliary battery.","note":"The catalogue page states no ignition or D+ requirement and no engine-detection method; recorded as unstated."},{"field_group":"lithium_profile","url":"https://www.ringautomotive.com/files/mydocs/cat739%20vehicle%20conversion%20low-res.pdf","document_title":"Ring Automotive Vehicle Conversion Catalogue (cat739), DC-DC Smart Battery Charger page","document_date":null,"checked":"2026-09-16","evidence":"manufacturer","hosted_by":"manufacturer","quote":"Programmable for most battery types","note":"No chemistry list is published in the catalogue; recorded as published_but_unspecified."},{"field_group":"profiles","url":"https://www.ringautomotive.com/files/mydocs/cat739%20vehicle%20conversion%20low-res.pdf","document_title":"Ring Automotive Vehicle Conversion Catalogue (cat739), DC-DC Smart Battery Charger page","document_date":null,"checked":"2026-09-16","evidence":"manufacturer","hosted_by":"manufacturer","quote":"Programmable for most battery types / 3-Stage smart charge output"},{"field_group":"mppt_input","url":"https://www.ringautomotive.com/files/mydocs/cat739%20vehicle%20conversion%20low-res.pdf","document_title":"Ring Automotive Vehicle Conversion Catalogue (cat739), DC-DC Smart Battery Charger page","document_date":null,"checked":"2026-09-16","evidence":"manufacturer","hosted_by":"manufacturer","quote":"Charging efficiency is maximised by using MPPT technology (Maximum Power Point Tracking) which ensures the maximum possible energy is extracted from the solar panel."},{"field_group":"smart_alternator_statement","url":"https://www.ringautomotive.com/files/mydocs/cat739%20vehicle%20conversion%20low-res.pdf","document_title":"Ring Automotive Vehicle Conversion Catalogue (cat739), DC-DC Smart Battery Charger page","document_date":null,"checked":"2026-09-16","evidence":"manufacturer","hosted_by":"manufacturer","quote":"It also has a programmable input voltage range to allow compatibility with smart alternators."},{"field_group":"lithium_statement","url":"https://www.ringautomotive.com/files/mydocs/cat739%20vehicle%20conversion%20low-res.pdf","document_title":"Ring Automotive Vehicle Conversion Catalogue (cat739), DC-DC Smart Battery Charger page","document_date":null,"checked":"2026-09-16","evidence":"manufacturer","hosted_by":"manufacturer","absent":true,"note":"The catalogue page does not mention lithium or LiFePO4."},{"field_group":"manufacturer_cable_fuse_table","url":"https://www.ringautomotive.com/files/mydocs/cat739%20vehicle%20conversion%20low-res.pdf","document_title":"Ring Automotive Vehicle Conversion Catalogue (cat739), DC-DC Smart Battery Charger page","document_date":null,"checked":"2026-09-16","evidence":"manufacturer","hosted_by":"manufacturer","absent":true,"note":"No cable or fuse recommendation on the catalogue page."}],"gaps":["lithium_statement","manufacturer_cable_fuse_table"],"open_questions":["Could not be read (image-only PDF, no text layer) on 2026-09-16: https://www.ringautomotive.com/files/mydocs/rscdc30%20instructions.pdf - the instruction manual may carry lithium, ignition and cable/fuse statements.","Could not be read (404) on 2026-09-16: https://www.ringautomotive.com/en/product/rscdc30 and https://www.ringautomotive.com/en/product/RSCDC30.","No GBP price seen on a UK retailer page on 2026-09-16; price_band_gbp omitted."],"changelog":[{"date":"2026-09-16","field":"seed","new":"record created from the Ring Automotive Vehicle Conversion Catalogue (cat739) DC-DC Smart Battery Charger page","source_url":"https://www.ringautomotive.com/files/mydocs/cat739%20vehicle%20conversion%20low-res.pdf","detected_by":"seed"}],"last_reviewed":"2026-09-16","type":"dcdc","first_checked":"2026-09-16","last_checked":"2026-09-16","age_days":1,"stale":false,"unverified":false,"freshness":"verified","freshness_label":"verified 16 September 2026","absences":[{"gap":"lithium_statement","line":"No published statement on lithium batteries found (checked 16 September 2026).","document_title":"Ring Automotive Vehicle Conversion Catalogue (cat739), DC-DC Smart Battery Charger page","url":"https://www.ringautomotive.com/files/mydocs/cat739%20vehicle%20conversion%20low-res.pdf"},{"gap":"manufacturer_cable_fuse_table","line":"No published cable and fuse table found (checked 16 September 2026).","document_title":"Ring Automotive Vehicle Conversion Catalogue (cat739), DC-DC Smart Battery Charger page","url":"https://www.ringautomotive.com/files/mydocs/cat739%20vehicle%20conversion%20low-res.pdf"}],"absence_by_gap":{"lithium_statement":"No published statement on lithium batteries found (checked 16 September 2026).","manufacturer_cable_fuse_table":"No published cable and fuse table found (checked 16 September 2026)."},"source_hosts":["ringautomotive.com"],"distributor_hosted":false,"evidence_grades":["manufacturer"],"anchor":"#ring-rscdc30"},{"id":"sterling-power-bb1230","brand":"Sterling Power","model":"BB1230","name":"Sterling Power Pro Batt Ultra BB1230 12V-12V 30A battery to battery charger","aliases":["Pro Batt Ultra 12V-12V 30A","BB1230 Pro Batt Ultra","Sterling B2B 30A"],"official_url":"https://sterling-power.com/collections/battery-to-battery-chargers/products/2015-battery-to-battery-chargers-non-waterproof-drip-proof-ip21","summary":"Sterling rates the BB1230 by its 30 A input current, with an 11-20 V DC input and seven battery-type settings including LiFePO4. Sterling publishes a regenerative-braking / smart-alternator statement, a lithium BMS statement and a cable and fuse table. The manual's switch-on/off voltages differ from the catalogue page.","output_a":30,"output_a_configurable":true,"input_voltage_window_v":[11,20],"isolated":null,"ignition_trigger":"either","engine_detection_thresholds":"The unit, by default, shall start charging when the input voltage exceeds 13.2V and switches off when the voltage drops below 13.0V for more than 240s (adjustable). Going above 13.2V for 5 seconds shall reset this timer.","lithium_profile":"published","profiles":[{"chemistry":"agm","published":true,"wording":"Battery types (all models) AGM (2) | GEL (2) | SEALED | OPEN | LiFePO 4 | CALCIUM | CUSTOM"},{"chemistry":"gel","published":true,"wording":"Battery types (all models) AGM (2) | GEL (2) | SEALED | OPEN | LiFePO 4 | CALCIUM | CUSTOM"},{"chemistry":"flooded_lead_acid","published":true,"wording":"OPEN"},{"chemistry":"lifepo4","published":true,"wording":"LiFePO 4"},{"chemistry":"calcium","published":true,"wording":"CALCIUM"},{"chemistry":"user_defined","published":true,"wording":"CUSTOM"}],"mppt_input":null,"smart_alternator_statement":{"published":true,"wording":"This is required to complement the regenerative braking aspect of modern Euro 5/6+ engines - where the alternator's voltage can drop below 13V for a short period of time. When the alternator's voltage rises above 13.2V the 240 second timer ends (+ reactivates the timer) and the charger remains charging."},"lithium_statement":{"published":true,"wording":"Lithium batteries present a few extra challenges due to the lithium safety BMS protocol in conflict with our safety protocol. I.e. if your lithium battery becomes sufficiently discharged then the battery will totally isolate your lithium battery effectively removing it from the charging circuit and, as such, presenting our Pro Batt Ultra with 0V."},"manufacturer_cable_fuse_table":{"published":true,"url":"https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0658/7343/files/2020_GREEN_V71_Rev_Instructions.pdf","clause":"Recommended cable size for current required","wording":"BB1230 / 30A: Distance 3m (10 ft) 5m (15ft) 7m (22ft) 8m (25ft) 9m (30ft); mm2 / AWG 6.0 / 10, 6.0 / 10, 6.0 / 10, 6.0 / 10, 10.0 / 8; Nominal Fuse size for input & output 50A"},"manufacturer_wiring_diagram_url":"https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0658/7343/files/2020_GREEN_V71_Rev_Instructions.pdf","price_band_gbp":[110.28,118.8],"price_band_checked":"2026-09-16","retailers":[{"merchant":"manufacturer-direct","name":"Sterling Power (own shop)","url":"https://sterling-power.com/collections/battery-to-battery-chargers/products/2015-battery-to-battery-chargers-non-waterproof-drip-proof-ip21","affiliate":false,"price_gbp":118.8,"price_checked":"2026-09-16","checked":"2026-09-16","note":"Variant BB1230 12V-12V 30A."},{"merchant":"12-volt-planet","name":"12 Volt Planet","url":"https://www.12voltplanet.co.uk/sterling-pro-batt-ultra-battery-to-battery-charger-12v12v-30a.html","affiliate":false,"price_gbp":110.28,"price_checked":"2026-09-16","checked":"2026-09-16","note":"Price read from the retailer's DC-DC category listing on 2026-09-16."}],"sources":[{"field_group":"output_a","url":"https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0658/7343/files/2020_GREEN_V71_Rev_Instructions.pdf","document_title":"Sterling Power Pro Batt Ultra English Manual, software V71+","document_date":"2020-02","document_edition":"Feb 2020 V71+","checked":"2026-09-16","evidence":"manufacturer","hosted_by":"manufacturer","quote":"Input Current (A) 30","clause":"Product Specifications, BB1230 column","note":"Sterling rates this charger by input current ('12V 12V 30A input ... BB1230' in the catalogue page). Hosted on Sterling's own Shopify CDN."},{"field_group":"output_a_configurable","url":"https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0658/7343/files/Page20_B2B_1.pdf","document_title":"Sterling Power catalogue page 20: Battery to Battery Chargers 12V | 24V | 36V | 48V","document_date":null,"checked":"2026-09-16","evidence":"manufacturer","hosted_by":"manufacturer","quote":"Adjustable current limit. The current limit can be reduced to 50%."},{"field_group":"input_voltage_window_v","url":"https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0658/7343/files/2020_GREEN_V71_Rev_Instructions.pdf","document_title":"Sterling Power Pro Batt Ultra English Manual, software V71+","document_date":"2020-02","document_edition":"Feb 2020 V71+","checked":"2026-09-16","evidence":"manufacturer","hosted_by":"manufacturer","quote":"Input Voltage (V DC) 11 - 20","clause":"Product Specifications, BB1230 column"},{"field_group":"ignition_trigger","url":"https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0658/7343/files/Page20_B2B_1.pdf","document_title":"Sterling Power catalogue page 20: Battery to Battery Chargers 12V | 24V | 36V | 48V","document_date":null,"checked":"2026-09-16","evidence":"manufacturer","hosted_by":"manufacturer","quote":"3 activation modes: 1) Automatic - Default, operates on input voltage (13.3V / 26.6V on) and complements regenerative braking with low voltage timer. No ignition feed required. 2) Ignition feed with timer. As above, however, requires a live ignition feed to operate. 3) Ignition feed without timer."},{"field_group":"engine_detection_thresholds","url":"https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0658/7343/files/2020_GREEN_V71_Rev_Instructions.pdf","document_title":"Sterling Power Pro Batt Ultra English Manual, software V71+","document_date":"2020-02","document_edition":"Feb 2020 V71+","checked":"2026-09-16","evidence":"manufacturer","hosted_by":"manufacturer","quote":"The unit, by default, shall start charging when the input voltage exceeds 13.2V and switches off when the voltage drops below 13.0V for more than 240s (adjustable). Going above 13.2V for 5 seconds shall reset this timer.","clause":"MUST READ","note":"Catalogue page 20 gives different figures: 'B2B turns on at 13.6V and turns off at 13.3V (x2 for 24V). ... Regenerative braking mode shall allow the input voltage to drop to 12.2V (x2 for 24V).' Recorded in open_questions."},{"field_group":"lithium_profile","url":"https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0658/7343/files/2020_GREEN_V71_Rev_Instructions.pdf","document_title":"Sterling Power Pro Batt Ultra English Manual, software V71+","document_date":"2020-02","document_edition":"Feb 2020 V71+","checked":"2026-09-16","evidence":"manufacturer","hosted_by":"manufacturer","quote":"Battery types (all models) AGM (2) | GEL (2) | SEALED | OPEN | LiFePO 4 | CALCIUM | CUSTOM","clause":"Product Specifications"},{"field_group":"profiles","url":"https://sterling-power.com/collections/battery-to-battery-chargers/products/2015-battery-to-battery-chargers-non-waterproof-drip-proof-ip21","document_title":"Pro Batt Ultra Battery to Battery Chargers (product page)","document_date":null,"checked":"2026-09-16","evidence":"manufacturer","hosted_by":"manufacturer","quote":"9 preset battery chemistry options"},{"field_group":"smart_alternator_statement","url":"https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0658/7343/files/2020_GREEN_V71_Rev_Instructions.pdf","document_title":"Sterling Power Pro Batt Ultra English Manual, software V71+","document_date":"2020-02","document_edition":"Feb 2020 V71+","checked":"2026-09-16","evidence":"manufacturer","hosted_by":"manufacturer","quote":"This is required to complement the regenerative braking aspect of modern Euro 5/6+ engines - where the alternator's voltage can drop below 13V for a short period of time.","clause":"Quick Installation","note":"Product page wording: 'Pro Batt Ultra This Battery to Battery Charger is Regenerative Braking / Smart Alternator Friendly - ideal for Euro 5 / 6 + engines.' Manual MUST READ box: 'In certain circumstances, when installing in a Euro 6 vehicle, you may have to use an ignition feed to the unit.'"},{"field_group":"lithium_statement","url":"https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0658/7343/files/2020_GREEN_V71_Rev_Instructions.pdf","document_title":"Sterling Power Pro Batt Ultra English Manual, software V71+","document_date":"2020-02","document_edition":"Feb 2020 V71+","checked":"2026-09-16","evidence":"manufacturer","hosted_by":"manufacturer","quote":"Lithium batteries present a few extra challenges due to the lithium safety BMS protocol in conflict with our safety protocol.","clause":"Lithium Battery installation | BMS shutdown"},{"field_group":"manufacturer_cable_fuse_table","url":"https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0658/7343/files/2020_GREEN_V71_Rev_Instructions.pdf","document_title":"Sterling Power Pro Batt Ultra English Manual, software V71+","document_date":"2020-02","document_edition":"Feb 2020 V71+","checked":"2026-09-16","evidence":"manufacturer","hosted_by":"manufacturer","quote":"Recommended cable size for current required ... BB1230 / 30A ... Distance 3m (10 ft) 5m (15ft) 7m (22ft) 8m (25ft) 9m (30ft) ... mm2 / AWG 6.0 / 10 6.0 / 10 6.0 / 10 6.0 / 10 10.0 / 8 ... Nominal Fuse size for input & output 50A","clause":"Recommended cable size for current required"},{"field_group":"price_band_gbp","url":"https://sterling-power.com/collections/battery-to-battery-chargers/products/2015-battery-to-battery-chargers-non-waterproof-drip-proof-ip21","document_title":"Pro Batt Ultra Battery to Battery Chargers (product page)","checked":"2026-09-16","evidence":"secondary","hosted_by":"manufacturer","quote":"BB1230 12V-12V 30A £118.80"},{"field_group":"price_band_gbp","url":"https://www.12voltplanet.co.uk/battery-to-battery-chargers.html","document_title":"12 Volt Planet DC-DC battery to battery chargers listing","checked":"2026-09-16","evidence":"secondary","hosted_by":"other","quote":"Sterling BB1230 'Pro Batt Ultra' Battery-To-Battery Charger - 12V/12V 30A £110.28"}],"gaps":[],"open_questions":["Sterling's two documents disagree on switch-on/off voltages: the V71 manual says 13.2V on / 13.0V off (240 s timer), the catalogue page 20 says 13.6V on / 13.3V off with a 12.2V regenerative-braking floor. Ask Sterling which applies to current stock.","Sterling states the 30 A rating as input current; the manual does not state a separate output current figure in the sections read."],"changelog":[{"date":"2026-09-16","field":"seed","new":"record created from Sterling Power Pro Batt Ultra English Manual V71+ (Feb 2020) and the sterling-power.com product page","source_url":"https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0658/7343/files/2020_GREEN_V71_Rev_Instructions.pdf","detected_by":"seed"}],"last_reviewed":"2026-09-16","type":"dcdc","first_checked":"2026-09-16","last_checked":"2026-09-16","age_days":1,"stale":false,"unverified":false,"freshness":"verified","freshness_label":"verified 16 September 2026","absences":[],"absence_by_gap":{},"source_hosts":["cdn.shopify.com","sterling-power.com","12voltplanet.co.uk"],"distributor_hosted":false,"evidence_grades":["manufacturer","secondary"],"anchor":"#sterling-power-bb1230"},{"id":"victron-orion-tr-smart-12-12-30-isolated","brand":"Victron Energy","model":"Orion-Tr Smart 12/12-30A (360W) Isolated","name":"Victron Energy Orion-Tr Smart 12/12-30A Isolated DC-DC charger","aliases":["ORI121236120","Orion-Tr Smart 12|12-30","Orion Smart 12/12-30"],"official_url":"https://www.victronenergy.com/dc-dc-converters/orion-tr-smart","summary":"Isolated 30 A DC-DC charger with an 8-17 V input range and built-in engine shutdown detection (default delayed start 13.3 V, shutdown 13.1 V in the smart-alternator setting). Victron publishes a smart-alternator statement, a lithium alternator-protection statement and a cable and fuse table (manual section 4.2).","output_a":30,"output_a_configurable":null,"input_voltage_window_v":[8,17],"isolated":true,"ignition_trigger":"either","engine_detection_thresholds":"Delayed start voltage (Vstart(delay)) ... Default: 13.3V (Smart Alternator) and 13.8 (Regular Alternator). Shutdown voltage (Vshutdown) ... Default: 13.1V (Smart Alternator) and 13.5V (Regular Alternator). Start voltage (Vstart): At this level, charging starts immediately. Default: 14V. Delayed start voltage delay (tstart delay) ... Default: 2 minutes.","lithium_profile":"published","profiles":[{"chemistry":"lifepo4","published":true,"wording":"lithium batteries, absorption time is fixed, default 2 hours."},{"chemistry":"user_defined","published":true,"wording":"The fixed or adaptive mode can be chosen in the battery settings"}],"mppt_input":null,"smart_alternator_statement":{"published":true,"wording":"Vehicle manufacturers are now introducing smart ECU (Engine Control Unit) controlled alternators to increase fuel efficiency and reduce emissions. Smart alternators deliver a variable output voltage and are shut down when they're not needed. The converter has an engine-running detection mechanism. This prevents the converter from discharging the starter battery when the alternator does not supply power."},"lithium_statement":{"published":true,"wording":"Controlled charging will also protect the alternator in lithium systems where direct charging can overload the alternator due to the low impedance of the lithium battery."},"manufacturer_cable_fuse_table":{"published":true,"url":"https://www.victronenergy.com/upload/documents/Orion-Tr_Smart_DC-DC_Charger_-_Isolated/34439-Orion-Tr_Smart_DC-DC_Charger-pdf-en.pdf","clause":"4.2. Cable and fuse recommendations, Figure 6","wording":"Voltage rating (Input or output) 12V: External battery protection Fuse 60A; Minimum cable gauge 0.5m 6mm2, 1m 10mm2, 2m 10mm2, 5m 16mm2, 10m 16mm2"},"manufacturer_wiring_diagram_url":"https://www.victronenergy.com/upload/documents/Orion-Tr_Smart_DC-DC_Charger_-_Isolated/34439-Orion-Tr_Smart_DC-DC_Charger-pdf-en.pdf","price_band_gbp":[211.46,211.46],"price_band_checked":"2026-09-16","retailers":[{"merchant":"12-volt-planet","name":"12 Volt Planet","url":"https://www.12voltplanet.co.uk/victron-orion-tr-smart-1212-30a-isolated-dc-dc-charger.html","affiliate":false,"price_gbp":211.46,"price_checked":"2026-09-16","checked":"2026-09-16","note":"Price read from the retailer's DC-DC category listing on 2026-09-16."}],"sources":[{"field_group":"output_a","url":"https://www.victronenergy.com/upload/documents/Orion-Tr_Smart_DC-DC_Charger_-_Isolated/34439-Orion-Tr_Smart_DC-DC_Charger-pdf-en.pdf","document_title":"Orion-Tr Smart DC-DC Charger Isolated (manual)","document_date":"2026-02","document_edition":"Rev 14 - 02/2026","checked":"2026-09-16","evidence":"manufacturer","hosted_by":"manufacturer","quote":"Cont. output current at nominal output voltage and 40°C 30 A","clause":"Specifications, Orion-Tr Smart DC-DC Charger Isolated 360 - 400 Watt, 12/12-30 column"},{"field_group":"input_voltage_window_v","url":"https://www.victronenergy.com/upload/documents/Orion-Tr_Smart_DC-DC_Charger_-_Isolated/34439-Orion-Tr_Smart_DC-DC_Charger-pdf-en.pdf","document_title":"Orion-Tr Smart DC-DC Charger Isolated (manual)","document_date":"2026-02","document_edition":"Rev 14 - 02/2026","checked":"2026-09-16","evidence":"manufacturer","hosted_by":"manufacturer","quote":"Input voltage range (1) 8-17 V","clause":"Specifications, 12/12-30 column"},{"field_group":"isolated","url":"https://www.victronenergy.com/upload/documents/Orion-Tr_Smart_DC-DC_Charger_-_Isolated/34439-Orion-Tr_Smart_DC-DC_Charger-pdf-en.pdf","document_title":"Orion-Tr Smart DC-DC Charger Isolated (manual)","document_date":"2026-02","document_edition":"Rev 14 - 02/2026","checked":"2026-09-16","evidence":"manufacturer","hosted_by":"manufacturer","quote":"Galvanic isolation 200 V dc between input, output and case","clause":"Specifications"},{"field_group":"ignition_trigger","url":"https://www.victronenergy.com/upload/documents/Orion-Tr_Smart_DC-DC_Charger_-_Isolated/34439-Orion-Tr_Smart_DC-DC_Charger-pdf-en.pdf","document_title":"Orion-Tr Smart DC-DC Charger Isolated (manual)","document_date":"2026-02","document_edition":"Rev 14 - 02/2026","checked":"2026-09-16","evidence":"manufacturer","hosted_by":"manufacturer","quote":"The Orion-Tr Smart DC-DC Charger can be set up to only provide power when the engine is running. This is possible thanks to the built-in engine shutdown detection. This also prevents the onboard voltage of the vehicle from becoming too low. It is not necessary to intervene in the vehicle system, to install a separate motor run sensor or to intervene in the CAN-bus system. Apart from this detection, the Orion smart charger can also be activated by a forced allowed-to-charge feature, e.g. connected to the ignition switch.","clause":"2. Introduction"},{"field_group":"engine_detection_thresholds","url":"https://www.victronenergy.com/upload/documents/Orion-Tr_Smart_DC-DC_Charger_-_Isolated/34439-Orion-Tr_Smart_DC-DC_Charger-pdf-en.pdf","document_title":"Orion-Tr Smart DC-DC Charger Isolated (manual)","document_date":"2026-02","document_edition":"Rev 14 - 02/2026","checked":"2026-09-16","evidence":"manufacturer","hosted_by":"manufacturer","quote":"Default: 13.3V (Smart Alternator) and 13.8 (Regular Alternator).","clause":"5.2. Engine shutdown detection setup with VictronConnect","note":"Shutdown voltage in the same section: 'Default: 13.1V (Smart Alternator) and 13.5V (Regular Alternator).' Section 5: 'Regular alternators generate a fixed voltage (e.g. 14V), whereas smart alternators generate a variable output voltage ranging from 12.5V to 15V.'"},{"field_group":"lithium_profile","url":"https://www.victronenergy.com/upload/documents/Orion-Tr_Smart_DC-DC_Charger_-_Isolated/34439-Orion-Tr_Smart_DC-DC_Charger-pdf-en.pdf","document_title":"Orion-Tr Smart DC-DC Charger Isolated (manual)","document_date":"2026-02","document_edition":"Rev 14 - 02/2026","checked":"2026-09-16","evidence":"manufacturer","hosted_by":"manufacturer","quote":"lithium batteries, absorption time is fixed, default 2 hours. The fixed or adaptive mode can be chosen in the battery settings","clause":"3. Features"},{"field_group":"profiles","url":"https://www.victronenergy.com/dc-dc-converters/orion-tr-smart","document_title":"Orion-Tr Smart DC-DC Charger Isolated (product page)","document_date":null,"checked":"2026-09-16","evidence":"manufacturer","hosted_by":"manufacturer","quote":"12V, 24V or 48V systems and is suitable for both lead acid and lithium batteries"},{"field_group":"smart_alternator_statement","url":"https://www.victronenergy.com/upload/documents/Orion-Tr_Smart_DC-DC_Charger_-_Isolated/34439-Orion-Tr_Smart_DC-DC_Charger-pdf-en.pdf","document_title":"Orion-Tr Smart DC-DC Charger Isolated (manual)","document_date":"2026-02","document_edition":"Rev 14 - 02/2026","checked":"2026-09-16","evidence":"manufacturer","hosted_by":"manufacturer","quote":"Smart alternators deliver a variable output voltage and are shut down when they're not needed. The converter has an engine-running detection mechanism.","clause":"3. Features - Smart alternator compatibility"},{"field_group":"lithium_statement","url":"https://www.victronenergy.com/upload/documents/Orion-Tr_Smart_DC-DC_Charger_-_Isolated/34439-Orion-Tr_Smart_DC-DC_Charger-pdf-en.pdf","document_title":"Orion-Tr Smart DC-DC Charger Isolated (manual)","document_date":"2026-02","document_edition":"Rev 14 - 02/2026","checked":"2026-09-16","evidence":"manufacturer","hosted_by":"manufacturer","quote":"Controlled charging will also protect the alternator in lithium systems where direct charging can overload the alternator due to the low impedance of the lithium battery.","clause":"2. Introduction"},{"field_group":"manufacturer_cable_fuse_table","url":"https://www.victronenergy.com/upload/documents/Orion-Tr_Smart_DC-DC_Charger_-_Isolated/34439-Orion-Tr_Smart_DC-DC_Charger-pdf-en.pdf","document_title":"Orion-Tr Smart DC-DC Charger Isolated (manual)","document_date":"2026-02","document_edition":"Rev 14 - 02/2026","checked":"2026-09-16","evidence":"manufacturer","hosted_by":"manufacturer","quote":"Fuse recommendation / Figure 6: Cable and fuse recommendations / Minimum cable gauge / Voltage rating (Input or output) / External battery protection Fuse / 0.5m 1m 2m 5m 10m / 12V 60A 6mm2 10mm2 10mm2 16mm2 16mm2","clause":"4.2. Cable and fuse recommendations","note":"Row alignment reconstructed from PDF text extraction; confirm against the rendered figure before quoting on-page."},{"field_group":"price_band_gbp","url":"https://www.12voltplanet.co.uk/battery-to-battery-chargers.html","document_title":"12 Volt Planet DC-DC battery to battery chargers listing","checked":"2026-09-16","evidence":"secondary","hosted_by":"other","quote":"Victron Energy Orion-Tr Smart 12/12-30A Isolated DC-DC charger £211.46"}],"gaps":[],"open_questions":["The isolated Orion-Tr Smart datasheet PDF (Datasheet-Orion-Tr-Smart-DC-DC-chargers-isolated-250-400W-EN-.pdf) extracted as images only on 2026-09-16; all figures were taken from the Rev 14 manual instead.","Whether the output current is user-configurable is not stated in the sections read; output_a_configurable left null."],"changelog":[{"date":"2026-09-16","field":"seed","new":"record created from Orion-Tr Smart DC-DC Charger Isolated manual Rev 14 - 02/2026","source_url":"https://www.victronenergy.com/upload/documents/Orion-Tr_Smart_DC-DC_Charger_-_Isolated/34439-Orion-Tr_Smart_DC-DC_Charger-pdf-en.pdf","detected_by":"seed"}],"last_reviewed":"2026-09-16","type":"dcdc","first_checked":"2026-09-16","last_checked":"2026-09-16","age_days":1,"stale":false,"unverified":false,"freshness":"verified","freshness_label":"verified 16 September 2026","absences":[],"absence_by_gap":{},"source_hosts":["victronenergy.com","12voltplanet.co.uk"],"distributor_hosted":false,"evidence_grades":["manufacturer","secondary"],"anchor":"#victron-orion-tr-smart-12-12-30-isolated"},{"id":"victron-orion-xs-12-12-50","brand":"Victron Energy","model":"Orion XS 12/12-50A","name":"Victron Energy Orion XS 12/12-50A DC-DC battery charger","aliases":["ORI121217040","Orion XS 12|12-50A","Orion XS 50A"],"official_url":"https://www.victronenergy.com/dc-dc-converters/orion-xs-dc-dc-battery-chargers","summary":"Buck-boost DC-DC charger with a 1-50 A input and output current setting range, 9-17 V input window and built-in engine shutdown detection. Victron publishes a smart-alternator statement, a lithium alternator-protection statement, eight battery presets and a cable and fuse table (manual section 3.3).","output_a":50,"output_a_configurable":true,"input_voltage_window_v":[9,17],"isolated":null,"ignition_trigger":"either","engine_detection_thresholds":"Delayed start voltage (Vstart(delay)) ... Default: 13.3V/26.6V (smart alternator) and 13.8/27.4V (regular alternator). Shutdown voltage (Vshutdown) ... Default: 13.1V/26.2V (smart alternator) and 13.5V/27V (regular alternator). Start voltage (Vstart): At this level, charging starts immediately. Default: 14V/28V. Delayed start voltage delay (tstart delay) ... Default: 120 seconds.","lithium_profile":"published","profiles":[{"chemistry":"lifepo4","published":true,"wording":"For lithium batteries, the absorption time is fixed, 2 hours by default."},{"chemistry":"agm","published":true,"wording":"The Orion XS charges all common battery types including lithium, AGM, Gel, and flooded. It comes with eight battery presets"},{"chemistry":"gel","published":true,"wording":"The Orion XS charges all common battery types including lithium, AGM, Gel, and flooded. It comes with eight battery presets"},{"chemistry":"flooded_lead_acid","published":true,"wording":"The Orion XS charges all common battery types including lithium, AGM, Gel, and flooded. It comes with eight battery presets"},{"chemistry":"user_defined","published":true,"wording":"Battery preset allows to select the battery type, accept factory defaults, or enter your own preset values to be used for the battery charging algorithm."}],"mppt_input":null,"smart_alternator_statement":{"published":true,"wording":"It is common for vehicle manufacturers to install \"smart\" ECU (Engine Control Unit) controlled alternators to increase fuel efficiency and reduce emissions. Smart alternators provide variable output voltage and shut down when not needed. The Orion XS has an integrated mechanism that detects whether the engine is running (engine shutdown detection), so the charger is only activated when the alternator is supplying power."},"lithium_statement":{"published":true,"wording":"Controlled charging also protects the alternator in lithium systems from overloading, as the low impedance of lithium batteries results in a high alternator current."},"manufacturer_cable_fuse_table":{"published":true,"url":"https://www.victronenergy.com/upload/documents/Orion_XS_12-12-50A_DC-DC_battery_charger/124067-Orion_XS_DC-DC_battery_charger-pdf-en.pdf","clause":"3.3. Cable and fuse recommendations","wording":"External battery protection fuse: 60 - 70 A. Minimum cable gauge: \u003c5 m 16 mm2 / 6AWG (13,3mm2); 5 - 10 m 4AWG (21,2 mm2)."},"manufacturer_wiring_diagram_url":"https://www.victronenergy.com/upload/documents/Orion_XS_12-12-50A_DC-DC_battery_charger/124067-Orion_XS_DC-DC_battery_charger-pdf-en.pdf","price_band_gbp":[231.43,231.43],"price_band_checked":"2026-09-16","retailers":[{"merchant":"12-volt-planet","name":"12 Volt Planet","url":"https://www.12voltplanet.co.uk/victron-energy-orion-xs-1212-50a-dc-dc-battery-charger.html","affiliate":false,"price_gbp":231.43,"price_checked":"2026-09-16","checked":"2026-09-16"}],"sources":[{"field_group":"output_a","url":"https://www.victronenergy.com/upload/documents/Orion_XS_12-12-50A_DC-DC_battery_charger/124067-Orion_XS_DC-DC_battery_charger-pdf-en.pdf","document_title":"Manual - Orion XS 12/12-50A DC-DC battery charger","document_date":"2026-06","document_edition":"Rev 11 - 06/2026","checked":"2026-09-16","evidence":"manufacturer","hosted_by":"manufacturer","quote":"Input and output current setting range 1 - 50A","clause":"6.1. Technical specifications"},{"field_group":"input_voltage_window_v","url":"https://www.victronenergy.com/upload/documents/Orion_XS_12-12-50A_DC-DC_battery_charger/124067-Orion_XS_DC-DC_battery_charger-pdf-en.pdf","document_title":"Manual - Orion XS 12/12-50A DC-DC battery charger","document_date":"2026-06","document_edition":"Rev 11 - 06/2026","checked":"2026-09-16","evidence":"manufacturer","hosted_by":"manufacturer","quote":"Input voltage range 9-17V","clause":"6.1. Technical specifications","note":"Same table: 'Output voltage adjust range 10-17V'."},{"field_group":"ignition_trigger","url":"https://www.victronenergy.com/upload/documents/Orion_XS_12-12-50A_DC-DC_battery_charger/124067-Orion_XS_DC-DC_battery_charger-pdf-en.pdf","document_title":"Manual - Orion XS 12/12-50A DC-DC battery charger","document_date":"2026-06","document_edition":"Rev 11 - 06/2026","checked":"2026-09-16","evidence":"manufacturer","hosted_by":"manufacturer","quote":"The Orion XS can be set only to supply power when the engine is running. This is possible thanks to the integrated engine shutdown detection. This eliminates the need to adjust in-vehicle wiring or add an engine detection sensor to determine if charging can start. It also prevents the voltage on board the vehicle from getting too low. In addition to this detection, the Orion XS can also be forced on via the remote on/off port.","clause":"2.1. Introduction"},{"field_group":"engine_detection_thresholds","url":"https://www.victronenergy.com/upload/documents/Orion_XS_12-12-50A_DC-DC_battery_charger/124067-Orion_XS_DC-DC_battery_charger-pdf-en.pdf","document_title":"Manual - Orion XS 12/12-50A DC-DC battery charger","document_date":"2026-06","document_edition":"Rev 11 - 06/2026","checked":"2026-09-16","evidence":"manufacturer","hosted_by":"manufacturer","quote":"Default: 13.3V/26.6V (smart alternator) and 13.8/27.4V (regular alternator).","clause":"4.5.6. Engine shutdown detection & input voltage lock-out","note":"Shutdown voltage in the same section: 'Default: 13.1V/26.2V (smart alternator) and 13.5V/27V (regular alternator).' Section 4.1 adds: 'Conventional alternators will generate a fixed voltage (e.g. 14V), whereas the voltage of smart alternators can vary between 12.5V to 15V (for a 12V system).'"},{"field_group":"lithium_profile","url":"https://www.victronenergy.com/upload/documents/Orion_XS_12-12-50A_DC-DC_battery_charger/124067-Orion_XS_DC-DC_battery_charger-pdf-en.pdf","document_title":"Manual - Orion XS 12/12-50A DC-DC battery charger","document_date":"2026-06","document_edition":"Rev 11 - 06/2026","checked":"2026-09-16","evidence":"manufacturer","hosted_by":"manufacturer","quote":"For lithium batteries, the absorption time is fixed, 2 hours by default.","clause":"2.2. Features"},{"field_group":"profiles","url":"https://www.victronenergy.com/dc-dc-converters/orion-xs-dc-dc-battery-chargers","document_title":"Orion XS DC-DC battery chargers (product page)","document_date":null,"checked":"2026-09-16","evidence":"manufacturer","hosted_by":"manufacturer","quote":"The Orion XS charges all common battery types including lithium, AGM, Gel, and flooded. It comes with eight battery presets, but charging settings can also be customised via the VictronConnect app."},{"field_group":"smart_alternator_statement","url":"https://www.victronenergy.com/upload/documents/Orion_XS_12-12-50A_DC-DC_battery_charger/124067-Orion_XS_DC-DC_battery_charger-pdf-en.pdf","document_title":"Manual - Orion XS 12/12-50A DC-DC battery charger","document_date":"2026-06","document_edition":"Rev 11 - 06/2026","checked":"2026-09-16","evidence":"manufacturer","hosted_by":"manufacturer","quote":"It is common for vehicle manufacturers to install \"smart\" ECU (Engine Control Unit) controlled alternators to increase fuel efficiency and reduce emissions. Smart alternators provide variable output voltage and shut down when not needed.","clause":"2.2. Features - Smart alternator compatibility"},{"field_group":"lithium_statement","url":"https://www.victronenergy.com/upload/documents/Orion_XS_12-12-50A_DC-DC_battery_charger/124067-Orion_XS_DC-DC_battery_charger-pdf-en.pdf","document_title":"Manual - Orion XS 12/12-50A DC-DC battery charger","document_date":"2026-06","document_edition":"Rev 11 - 06/2026","checked":"2026-09-16","evidence":"manufacturer","hosted_by":"manufacturer","quote":"Controlled charging also protects the alternator in lithium systems from overloading, as the low impedance of lithium batteries results in a high alternator current.","clause":"2.1. Introduction"},{"field_group":"manufacturer_cable_fuse_table","url":"https://www.victronenergy.com/upload/documents/Orion_XS_12-12-50A_DC-DC_battery_charger/124067-Orion_XS_DC-DC_battery_charger-pdf-en.pdf","document_title":"Manual - Orion XS 12/12-50A DC-DC battery charger","document_date":"2026-06","document_edition":"Rev 11 - 06/2026","checked":"2026-09-16","evidence":"manufacturer","hosted_by":"manufacturer","quote":"External battery protection fuse 60 - 70 A / Minimum cable gauge \u003c5 m 16 mm2 / 6AWG (13,3mm2) / 5 - 10 m 4AWG (21,2 mm2)","clause":"3.3. Cable and fuse recommendations","note":"Table cells transcribed in reading order; the site links this table and does not reproduce it."},{"field_group":"price_band_gbp","url":"https://www.12voltplanet.co.uk/victron-energy-orion-xs-1212-50a-dc-dc-battery-charger.html","document_title":"12 Volt Planet product page","checked":"2026-09-16","evidence":"secondary","hosted_by":"other","quote":"£231.43"}],"gaps":[],"open_questions":["Isolated/non-isolated is not stated in the sections read; confirm from the datasheet before populating `isolated`.","Victron's model product page https://www.victronenergy.com/dc-dc-converters/orion-xs-12-12-50a-dc-dc-battery-charger returned 404 on 2026-09-16; the family page was used instead."],"changelog":[{"date":"2026-09-16","field":"seed","new":"record created from Manual - Orion XS 12/12-50A DC-DC battery charger Rev 11 - 06/2026","source_url":"https://www.victronenergy.com/upload/documents/Orion_XS_12-12-50A_DC-DC_battery_charger/124067-Orion_XS_DC-DC_battery_charger-pdf-en.pdf","detected_by":"seed"}],"last_reviewed":"2026-09-16","type":"dcdc","first_checked":"2026-09-16","last_checked":"2026-09-16","age_days":1,"stale":false,"unverified":false,"freshness":"verified","freshness_label":"verified 16 September 2026","absences":[],"absence_by_gap":{},"source_hosts":["victronenergy.com","12voltplanet.co.uk"],"distributor_hosted":false,"evidence_grades":["manufacturer","secondary"],"anchor":"#victron-orion-xs-12-12-50"}]}
