Work out what size leisure battery you need
Pick the appliances you run and the nights you stay off hook-up. The checker applies only figures manufacturers have published, names the rule and source behind every number, and says out loud where a maker publishes nothing. 28 appliance records, 19 battery records, 30 rules, every one dated.
Private by design. Runs entirely in your browser. Nothing you enter is stored or sent by this site. How that works.
Read first.
Loading the published dataset…
How the checker works, step by step
The same code runs the form above, the assistant tool on this page and the automated tests, so the prose here cannot drift from the arithmetic. Every step names its rule; every rule is a record in the public dataset with its source and the date it was checked.
- Normalise each load to amps at 12 V. Where a maker publishes an average (Dometic’s Ah/h, Truma’s “average approx. 1.2 A”) the average is used. Where it publishes a control range (Webasto’s 15 to 30 W) the line is a range. Where it publishes only a rated figure, the line is an upper bound and says so. Watts are divided by 12 (rule S1). A 230 V load is divided by the selected inverter’s published maximum efficiency and the inverter’s published zero-load draw is added for every hour it is on (rule S2).
- No duty cycle is ever assumed (rule S3). No manufacturer in the index publishes one. The Dometic CRX manual’s “Rated current 5.0 A” is compressor-running current, about 4.5 times the catalogue average, and is interlocked so it can never reach the total.
- Daily consumption is the sum of the lines; gross is daily consumption times the nights entered.
- Depth-of-discharge ceiling (rule S5). Lead-acid: 50%, the depth of discharge the NCC scheme rates every class at and a figure Victron calls “generally accepted”: a convention, not a standard. LiFePO4: 80%, Victron’s working figure, backed by its published cycle table. Where the selected battery publishes its own guidance, both figures are shown.
- Rate derating, lead-acid only (rule S4). If the implied discharge is slower than 20 hours, no derate is applied and the checker says so. If faster, Peukert’s relation is applied with an exponent derived from the battery’s own two published ratings where they exist, otherwise Victron’s default of 1.25, labelled as a default and carrying Victron’s own caveat that it is a rough approximation.
- Temperature (rule S6). LiFePO4: the battery’s published capacity at +25, 0 and −20 °C is interpolated, labelled as interpolation, and charging below the published minimum raises a hard warning. Lead-acid: no numeric factor is applied because no maker publishes one as a number; the direction of the effect is stated instead.
- Putting the charge back (rule S7) is a separate answer, not folded into the capacity. If the recharge you enter does not replace the daily use, Victron’s sulfation warning is quoted for lead-acid.
- The answer is nameplate amp-hours at the 20-hour rate (rule S8), because the number on the box is often a 100-hour figure. Indexed batteries are matched on a published 20-hour or faster rating; those publishing only a 100-hour or unstated figure are listed separately as not comparable.
The rules, with their sources
What the checker refuses to do, and why
These are recorded as rules too, graded unverified and never used to produce a number.
Appliance current draw, as published
Every figure below is quoted from a named manufacturer document with the date it was checked, or carries the absence line. Retailer restatements are never used. The duty cycle column is the finding: nobody publishes one.
| Appliance | Published figure | Basis in the checker | Duty cycle / test standard | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dometic RM 5330 3-way absorption fridge on 12 V 3-way absorption fridge (on 12V) · verified 16 September 2026 |
240 Ah per 24 h (120 W rated) | Maker publishes Ah per 24 h Maker’s notice shown before any number. |
No published test standard found (checked 16 September 2026). Duty cycle: not published |
Dometic RM5310, RM5330, RM5380 Absorption refrigerator Installation and Operating Manual (4445102234), 13 Technical data, Manufacturer document, checked 16 September 2026 |
| Dometic RUA 5208X 3-way absorption fridge on 12 V 3-way absorption fridge (on 12V) · verified 16 September 2026 |
346 Ah per 24 h (175 W rated) | Maker publishes Ah per 24 h Maker’s notice shown before any number. |
No published test standard found (checked 16 September 2026). Duty cycle: not published |
Dometic RUA 5208X, RUA 6408X, RUA 8408X Absorption refrigerator Installation and Operating Manual (4445102445), 14 Technical data, RUA 5208X column, Manufacturer document, checked 16 September 2026 |
| Dometic RUA 6408X 3-way absorption fridge on 12 V 3-way absorption fridge (on 12V) · verified 16 September 2026 |
400 Ah per 24 h (275 W rated) | Maker publishes Ah per 24 h Maker’s notice shown before any number. |
No published test standard found (checked 16 September 2026). Duty cycle: not published |
Dometic RUA 5208X, RUA 6408X, RUA 8408X Absorption refrigerator Installation and Operating Manual (4445102445), 14 Technical data, RUA 6408X column, Manufacturer document, checked 16 September 2026 |
| Dometic RUA 8408X 3-way absorption fridge on 12 V 3-way absorption fridge (on 12V) · verified 16 September 2026 |
420 Ah per 24 h (275 W rated) | Maker publishes Ah per 24 h Maker’s notice shown before any number. |
No published test standard found (checked 16 September 2026). Duty cycle: not published |
Dometic RUA 5208X, RUA 6408X, RUA 8408X Absorption refrigerator Installation and Operating Manual (4445102445), 14 Technical data, RUA 8408X column, Manufacturer document, checked 16 September 2026 |
| Dometic CoolMatic CRX 50 compressor fridge 12V compressor fridge · verified 16 September 2026 |
1.1 Ah/h at +25 °C ambient, +5 °C interior; 1.7 Ah/h at +32 °C Manual: rated current 5 A, interlocked out |
Maker publishes Ah per hour at a stated ambient Interlock applied. |
No published test standard found (checked 16 September 2026). Duty cycle: not published |
Dometic catalogue page 118, 'Dometic CoolMatic CRX 50/50S / 65/65S' (section 4.24, Compressor refrigerators, 12 / 24 V DC), 4.24, page 118, Manufacturer document, checked 16 September 2026 (maker’s document read on a distributor server) |
| Dometic CoolMatic CRX 65 compressor fridge 12V compressor fridge · verified 16 September 2026 |
1.14 Ah/h at +25 °C ambient, +5 °C interior; 1.8 Ah/h at +32 °C Manual: rated current 5.5 A, interlocked out |
Maker publishes Ah per hour at a stated ambient Interlock applied. |
No published test standard found (checked 16 September 2026). Duty cycle: not published |
Dometic catalogue page 118, 'Dometic CoolMatic CRX 50/50S / 65/65S' (section 4.24, Compressor refrigerators, 12 / 24 V DC), 4.24, page 118, CRX 65 block, Manufacturer document, checked 16 September 2026 (maker’s document read on a distributor server) |
| Dometic CoolMatic CRX 80 compressor fridge 12V compressor fridge · verified 16 September 2026 |
1.19 Ah/h at +25 °C ambient, +5 °C interior; 2 Ah/h at +32 °C Manual: rated current 5.6 A, interlocked out |
Maker publishes Ah per hour at a stated ambient Interlock applied. |
No published test standard found (checked 16 September 2026). Duty cycle: not published |
Dometic catalogue page 120, 'Dometic CoolMatic CRX 80/80S / 110/110S' (section 4.24, Compressor refrigerators, 12 / 24 V DC), 4.24, page 120, CRX 80 block, Manufacturer document, checked 16 September 2026 (maker’s document read on a distributor server) |
| Thetford T1090-E 12V compressor refrigerator 12V compressor fridge · verified 16 September 2026 |
25.6 Ah per 24 h | Maker publishes Ah per 24 h | Test standard: IEC62552-2020 part 3 Duty cycle: not published |
Thetford '12V Compressor refrigerators' product range sheet, 2026 range (7.1_Thetford_12V-Refrigerators_2026_EN_LR), T1090-E column, Manufacturer document, checked 16 September 2026 |
| Thetford T2095-E 12V compressor refrigerator 12V compressor fridge · verified 16 September 2026 |
30 Ah per 24 h | Maker publishes Ah per 24 h | Test standard: IEC62552-2020 part 3 Duty cycle: not published |
Thetford '12V Compressor refrigerators' product range sheet, 2026 range (7.1_Thetford_12V-Refrigerators_2026_EN_LR), T2095-E column, Manufacturer document, checked 16 September 2026 |
| Thetford T2120-C 12V compressor refrigerator 12V compressor fridge · verified 16 September 2026 |
37 Ah per 24 h | Maker publishes Ah per 24 h | Test standard: IEC62552-2020 part 3 Duty cycle: not published |
Thetford '12V Compressor refrigerators' product range sheet, 2026 range (7.1_Thetford_12V-Refrigerators_2026_EN_LR), T2120-C column, Manufacturer document, checked 16 September 2026 |
| Thetford T2138-C 12V compressor refrigerator 12V compressor fridge · verified 16 September 2026 |
40 Ah per 24 h | Maker publishes Ah per 24 h | Test standard: IEC62552-2020 part 3 Duty cycle: not published |
Thetford '12V Compressor refrigerators' product range sheet, 2026 range (7.1_Thetford_12V-Refrigerators_2026_EN_LR), T2138-C column, Manufacturer document, checked 16 September 2026 |
| Thetford T2152-C 12V compressor refrigerator 12V compressor fridge · verified 16 September 2026 |
37.6 Ah per 24 h | Maker publishes Ah per 24 h | Test standard: IEC62552-2020 part 3 Duty cycle: not published |
Thetford '12V Compressor refrigerators' product range sheet, 2026 range (7.1_Thetford_12V-Refrigerators_2026_EN_LR), T2152-C column, Manufacturer document, checked 16 September 2026 |
| Thetford T2160-C 12V compressor refrigerator 12V compressor fridge · verified 16 September 2026 |
44 Ah per 24 h | Maker publishes Ah per 24 h | Test standard: IEC62552-2020 part 3 Duty cycle: not published |
Thetford '12V Compressor refrigerators' product range sheet, 2026 range (7.1_Thetford_12V-Refrigerators_2026_EN_LR), T2160-C column, Manufacturer document, checked 16 September 2026 |
| Thetford T2175-C 12V compressor refrigerator 12V compressor fridge · verified 16 September 2026 |
44.8 Ah per 24 h | Maker publishes Ah per 24 h | Test standard: IEC62552-2020 part 3 Duty cycle: not published |
Thetford '12V Compressor refrigerators' product range sheet, 2026 range (7.1_Thetford_12V-Refrigerators_2026_EN_LR), T2175-C column, Manufacturer document, checked 16 September 2026 |
| Vitrifrigo C51i CHR compressor fridge-freezer (consumption not published) 12V compressor fridge · verified 16 September 2026 |
No published 12 V current figure found (checked 16 September 2026). | No 12V figure published: the reader enters their own | No published test standard found (checked 16 September 2026). Duty cycle: not published |
|
| Eberspächer Airtronic S2 D2L diesel air heater (12 V) Diesel air heater · verified 16 September 2026 |
34 W rated (maximum) | Only a rated figure is published: shown as an upper bound | No published test standard found (checked 16 September 2026). Duty cycle: not published |
Eberspächer 'Airtronic S2 & M2 Commercial / M2 Recreational' technical documentation and operating instructions (29.2100.20.1046 Issue C), Technical Data – Heater, page 4, Manufacturer document, checked 16 September 2026 |
| Truma Combi D 6 E diesel combination heater (12 V control side) Diesel air heater · verified 16 September 2026 |
1.8 to 4 A control range | Maker publishes a control range, so the answer is a range | No published test standard found (checked 16 September 2026). Duty cycle: not published |
Truma Combi D 6 E product page, 'Technical Details', Technical Details, Manufacturer document, checked 16 September 2026 |
| Webasto Air Top 2000 STC diesel air heater (12 V) Diesel air heater · verified 16 September 2026 |
15 to 30 W control range; start-up 75 W, duration not published | Maker publishes a control range, so the answer is a range | No published test standard found (checked 16 September 2026). Duty cycle: not published |
Webasto 'Air Top 2000 STC – The simple and cost-effective solution' datasheet (07/24), Technical specifications table, Manufacturer document, checked 16 September 2026 |
| Truma Combi 4 gas combination heater (12 V control side) Gas heater / combi boiler (12V control) · verified 16 September 2026 |
1.2 A average; peak 6.5 A | Maker publishes an average current | No published test standard found (checked 16 September 2026). Duty cycle: not published |
Truma Combi 4 product page, 'Technical Details', Technical Details, Manufacturer document, checked 16 September 2026 |
| Victron Phoenix Inverter 12/1200 VE.Direct Inverter (230 V loads) · verified 16 September 2026 |
Max. efficiency 91%; zero-load 10 W (1 W ECO) | Inverter: published maximum efficiency and zero-load draw applied | No published test standard found (checked 16 September 2026). Duty cycle: not published |
Victron Energy 'Inverters VE.Direct 250VA – 1600VA, 230V and 120V, 50Hz or 60Hz' datasheet, Specification table, 12/1200 24/1200 48/1200 column, Manufacturer document, checked 16 September 2026 |
| Victron Phoenix Inverter 12/500 VE.Direct Inverter (230 V loads) · verified 16 September 2026 |
Max. efficiency 90%; zero-load 6 W (1 W ECO) | Inverter: published maximum efficiency and zero-load draw applied | No published test standard found (checked 16 September 2026). Duty cycle: not published |
Victron Energy 'Inverters VE.Direct 250VA – 1600VA, 230V and 120V, 50Hz or 60Hz' datasheet, Specification table, 12/500 24/500 48/500 column, Manufacturer document, checked 16 September 2026 |
| Labcraft Megalux PD1 surface-mount LED interior light, 10-32 V LED lighting · verified 16 September 2026 |
0.48 A average | Maker publishes an average current | No published test standard found (checked 16 September 2026). Duty cycle: not published |
Labcraft Megalux PD1 product page, specification table, Specification table (Product, Part No., Voltage, Watts, Current, Lumens, Dimensions, Fixing Centres, Switch), Manufacturer document, checked 16 September 2026 |
| Labcraft Orizon 500 mm LED strip light, 12 V LED lighting · verified 16 September 2026 |
0.48 A average | Maker publishes an average current | No published test standard found (checked 16 September 2026). Duty cycle: not published |
Labcraft Orizon product page, specification table, Specification table (Product, Part No., Watts, Current, Lumens, No. LEDS, Dimensions), 12V rows, Manufacturer document, checked 16 September 2026 |
| CBE MP2USBC double USB charging socket (USB-A + USB-C), 12 V input USB charging socket · verified 16 September 2026 |
No published 12 V current figure found (checked 16 September 2026). Publishes only the 5 V output: 6 A. | No 12V figure published: the reader enters their own | No published test standard found (checked 16 September 2026). Duty cycle: not published |
CBE MP2USBC product page, Description, Manufacturer document, checked 16 September 2026 |
| Shurflo Trail King 7 caravan water pump, 7 l/min 20 psi, 12 V Water pump · verified 16 September 2026 |
3.3 A rated (maximum) | Only a rated figure is published: shown as an upper bound | No published test standard found (checked 16 September 2026). Duty cycle: not published |
SHURflo Caravan PRODUCT SHEET OEM 2095-204-112 / Aftermarket 2095-204-412, Trail King 7 (PDS-2095-204-112), Typical Performance @ 12 VDC table, Manufacturer document, checked 16 September 2026 (maker’s document read on a distributor server) |
| Shurflo Trail King II RV/caravan fresh water pump, 12 V Water pump · verified 16 September 2026 |
3 A rated (maximum) | Only a rated figure is published: shown as an upper bound | No published test standard found (checked 16 September 2026). Duty cycle: not published |
Pentair 'SHURflo Trail King II RV/Caravan Fresh Water Pump – Product Technical Data Sheet' (4029-181-A43 [B43] Rev. 05/14), Typical Performance at 12V table, page 2, Manufacturer document, checked 16 September 2026 |
| Whale Premium submersible pump GP1352, 12 V Water pump · verified 16 September 2026 |
3.6 A average (3 points of current against head) | Maker publishes an average current | No published test standard found (checked 16 September 2026). Duty cycle: not published |
Whale RV Catalogue (Navico Group), page 12, 'Submersible Pump Range', page 12, Performance table, Manufacturer document, checked 16 September 2026 |
| Whale Watermaster exterior water pump EP1612, 12 V Water pump · verified 16 September 2026 |
3.8 A average (3 points of current against head) | Maker publishes an average current | No published test standard found (checked 16 September 2026). Duty cycle: not published |
Whale RV Catalogue (Navico Group), page 16, 'Watermaster Exterior Water Pump Range', page 16, Performance table, Manufacturer document, checked 16 September 2026 |
Manufacturer notices the checker shows before any number
Dometic RM 5330 3-way absorption fridge on 12 V:
2.2 Safety when operating with DC power — NOTICE! Damage hazard. Only select operation with DC power supply (battery mode) if the vehicle engine is running and providing sufficient voltage to the light system, or if you are using a battery monitor.
Dometic RUA 5208X 3-way absorption fridge on 12 V:
NOTICE! Damage hazard — Only select operation with DC power supply if the vehicle engine is running and providing sufficient voltage to the light system, or if you are using a battery monitor.
Dometic RUA 6408X 3-way absorption fridge on 12 V:
NOTICE! Damage hazard — Only select operation with DC power supply if the vehicle engine is running and providing sufficient voltage to the light system, or if you are using a battery monitor.
Dometic RUA 8408X 3-way absorption fridge on 12 V:
NOTICE! Damage hazard — Only select operation with DC power supply if the vehicle engine is running and providing sufficient voltage to the light system, or if you are using a battery monitor.
Depth of discharge, as published
The checker’s default figures are conventions with a scheme test basis behind them, and are labelled so. The rows below are what each battery maker in the index publishes about depth of discharge in its own document, or the absence line.
| Battery | Chemistry | Maker’s published depth-of-discharge guidance | Cycle life at a stated depth of discharge | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Checker default, lead-acid | Flooded, EFB, AGM, gel | 50%: 50% depth of discharge: NCC scheme test basis and a manufacturer convention, not a standard | NCC scheme classes are defined by minimum life cycles at 50% depth of discharge (rule I1) | NCC, Verified Battery List (consumer advice page with scheme class definitions), Class table column header, UK verification scheme, checked 16 September 2026 |
| Checker default, LiFePO4 | LiFePO4 | 80%: 80% depth of discharge: Victron's working figure for LiFePO4; 2500 cycles @80%, 3000 @70%, 5000 @50% (LFP Smart datasheet) | CYCLE LIFE (capacity ≥ 80 % of nominal): 80 % DoD 2500 cycles | 70 % DoD 3000 cycles | 50 % DoD 5000 cycles | Victron Energy blog: Batteries: Lithium-ion vs AGM (John Rushworth), Manufacturer document, checked 16 September 2026 |
| Victron AGM Deep Cycle Battery 12V 110Ah verified 16 September 2026 · 5/9 published |
AGM | No published depth-of-discharge figure found (checked 16 September 2026). | 400 cycles at 80% DoD (end of life: Not stated; the datasheet lists the figures under the heading "Cycle design life"); 600 cycles at 50% DoD (end of life: Not stated; the datasheet lists the figures under the heading "Cycle design life"); 1500 cycles at 30% DoD (end of life: Not stated; the datasheet lists the figures under the heading "Cycle design life") | |
| Yuasa L36-AGM YBX Active Leisure AGM 12V 95Ah verified 16 September 2026 · 4/9 published |
AGM | No published depth-of-discharge figure found (checked 16 September 2026). | No published cycle-life figure at a stated depth of discharge found (checked 16 September 2026). | |
| Yuasa L36-EFB YBX Active Leisure EFB 12V 100Ah verified 16 September 2026 · 4/9 published |
EFB | No published depth-of-discharge figure found (checked 16 September 2026). | No published cycle-life figure at a stated depth of discharge found (checked 16 September 2026). | |
| Banner Energy Bull 955 51 verified 16 September 2026 · 5/9 published |
Flooded | Never remove the entire nominal capacity from the battery! Banner recommendation: max. 50% depth of discharge (DoD)(50%) |
270 cycles at 50% DoD (end of life: Not stated by Banner (range-level figure given as "up to 270" at 50% discharge depth)) | Hobby and Leisure Batteries | Banner Battery Knowledge, Manufacturer document, checked 16 September 2026 |
| Banner Energy Bull 957 51 verified 16 September 2026 · 6/9 published |
Flooded | Never remove the entire nominal capacity from the battery! Banner recommendation: max. 50% depth of discharge (DoD)(50%) |
270 cycles at 50% DoD (end of life: Not stated by Banner (figure given as "up to 270" at 50% discharge depth)) | Hobby and Leisure Batteries | Banner Battery Knowledge, Manufacturer document, checked 16 September 2026 |
| Banner Energy Bull 959 01 verified 16 September 2026 · 5/9 published |
Flooded | Never remove the entire nominal capacity from the battery! Banner recommendation: max. 50% depth of discharge (DoD)(50%) |
270 cycles at 50% DoD (end of life: Not stated by Banner (range-level figure given as "up to 270" at 50% discharge depth)) | Hobby and Leisure Batteries | Banner Battery Knowledge, Manufacturer document, checked 16 September 2026 |
| Banner Energy Bull 968 01 verified 16 September 2026 · 6/9 published |
Flooded | Never remove the entire nominal capacity from the battery! Banner recommendation: max. 50% depth of discharge (DoD)(50%) |
270 cycles at 50% DoD (end of life: Not stated by Banner (range-level figure given as "up to 270" at 50% discharge depth)) | Hobby and Leisure Batteries | Banner Battery Knowledge, Manufacturer document, checked 16 September 2026 |
| Lucas LX31MF Leisure Battery 105Ah verified 16 September 2026 · 3/9 published |
Flooded | No published depth-of-discharge figure found (checked 16 September 2026). | No published cycle-life figure at a stated depth of discharge found (checked 16 September 2026). | |
| Numax LV26MF Sealed Leisure Battery verified 16 September 2026 · 4/9 published |
Flooded | No published depth-of-discharge figure found (checked 16 September 2026). | No published cycle-life figure at a stated depth of discharge found (checked 16 September 2026). | |
| Numax XV31MF Sealed Leisure Battery verified 16 September 2026 · 3/9 published |
Flooded | No published depth-of-discharge figure found (checked 16 September 2026). | No published cycle-life figure at a stated depth of discharge found (checked 16 September 2026). | |
| Platinum LB6110L Leisure Battery 12V 100Ah verified 16 September 2026 · 4/9 published |
Flooded | No published depth-of-discharge figure found (checked 16 September 2026). | 70 cycles at 50% DoD (end of life: Not stated by Platinum (column headed "PRODUCT LIFE CYCLES @50% DOD")) | |
| Trojan 27TMX 12V Deep-Cycle Flooded Battery verified 16 September 2026 · 4/9 published |
Flooded | No published depth-of-discharge figure found (checked 16 September 2026). | No published cycle-life figure at a stated depth of discharge found (checked 16 September 2026). | |
| Exide Equipment GEL ES1200 verified 16 September 2026 · 4/9 published |
Gel | No published depth-of-discharge figure found (checked 16 September 2026). | No published cycle-life figure at a stated depth of discharge found (checked 16 September 2026). | |
| Exide Equipment GEL ES1300 verified 16 September 2026 · 4/9 published |
Gel | No published depth-of-discharge figure found (checked 16 September 2026). | No published cycle-life figure at a stated depth of discharge found (checked 16 September 2026). | |
| Victron Gel Deep Cycle Battery 12V 110Ah verified 16 September 2026 · 5/9 published |
Gel | No published depth-of-discharge figure found (checked 16 September 2026). | 500 cycles at 80% DoD (end of life: Not stated; the datasheet lists the figures under the heading "Cycle design life"); 750 cycles at 50% DoD (end of life: Not stated; the datasheet lists the figures under the heading "Cycle design life"); 1800 cycles at 30% DoD (end of life: Not stated; the datasheet lists the figures under the heading "Cycle design life") | |
| Fogstar Drift 12V 105Ah Lithium Leisure Battery verified 16 September 2026 · 6/9 published |
LiFePO4 | No published depth-of-discharge figure found (checked 16 September 2026). | 3500 cycles at 80% DoD (end of life: Not stated by Fogstar) | |
| Renogy Core Mini 12.8V 100Ah Lithium Iron Phosphate Battery verified 16 September 2026 · 6/9 published |
LiFePO4 | No published depth-of-discharge figure found (checked 16 September 2026). | 5000 cycles at 80% DoD (end of life: 80% EOL (as printed: "5000 Cycles (80% DOD, 80% EOL)")) | |
| Roamer 105SMART5 MAX 12.8V 105Ah LiFePO4 verified 16 September 2026 · 6/9 published |
LiFePO4 | No published depth-of-discharge figure found (checked 16 September 2026). | 8000 cycles at 80% DoD (end of life: Not stated by Roamer) | |
| Victron Lithium Battery Smart 12,8V/100Ah verified 16 September 2026 · 7/9 published |
LiFePO4 | For Lithium-iron-phosphate (LiFePO4 or LFP) which is the safest of the mainstream Li-ion battery types, 80% DOD is used.(80%) |
2500 cycles at 80% DoD (end of life: capacity ≥ 80 % of nominal); 3000 cycles at 70% DoD (end of life: capacity ≥ 80 % of nominal); 5000 cycles at 50% DoD (end of life: capacity ≥ 80 % of nominal) | Victron Energy blog – Batteries: Lithium-ion vs AGM (John Rushworth), Useable energy and cost, Manufacturer document, checked 16 September 2026 |
The number on the box is often not the 20-hour figure
Capacity is stored here as every rate the maker publishes, never one number. Banner publishes its 957 51 at three rates; the “110Ah” on the retail listing is the 100-hour figure and the 20-hour figure is 100 Ah. No UK retailer shows this, which is why the checker answers at a named rate.
| Battery | Marketed as | Published rates | Box figure vs 20-hour figure | NCC list | Where sold | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Banner Energy Bull 955 51 Flooded · Deep cycle (maker’s term) · verified 16 September 2026 |
72 Ah, C20 UK brochure (05/16) lists it as "72ah / 85ah" (20hr/100hr). |
55 Ah at C5 72 Ah at C20 85 Ah at C100 Peukert n 1.241 derived from C5 and C20 |
0% 5-hour figure 24% below |
Class C, NCC/VB/C/032: 72 Ah, 200 cycles at 50% DoD list October 2023; discharge rate not stated by the scheme |
No UK retailer link recorded. |
Energy Bull – On Board Power für Hobby und Freizeit (Banner Energy Bull brochure, German language), Technische Daten und Infos table, columns Ah 5 h / Ah 20 h / Ah 100 h, Manufacturer document, checked 16 September 2026 |
| Banner Energy Bull 957 51 Flooded · Deep cycle (maker’s term) · verified 16 September 2026 |
100 Ah, C20 Banner's product page and technical data sheet lead with K20 = 100 Ah; UK retail copy says "100/110Ah", the 110 being the K100 (100-hour) figure. |
75 Ah at C5 100 Ah at C20 110 Ah at C100 Peukert n 1.262 derived from C5 and C20 |
0% 5-hour figure 25% below |
Class B, NCC/VB/B/006: 100 Ah, 200 cycles at 50% DoD list October 2023; discharge rate not stated by the scheme |
|
Banner Technical Data Sheet – Energy Bull 957 51 (Document DBTBAT00339), Electrical data, Manufacturer document, checked 16 September 2026 |
| Banner Energy Bull 959 01 Flooded · Deep cycle (maker’s term) · verified 16 September 2026 |
115 Ah, C20 UK brochure (05/16) and Tayna list it as 115 Ah / "115ah / 135ah" (20hr/100hr). |
90 Ah at C5 115 Ah at C20 135 Ah at C100 Peukert n 1.215 derived from C5 and C20 |
0% 5-hour figure 22% below |
Class B, NCC/VB/B/007: 115 Ah, 200 cycles at 50% DoD list October 2023; discharge rate not stated by the scheme |
|
Energy Bull – On Board Power für Hobby und Freizeit (Banner Energy Bull brochure, German language), Technische Daten und Infos table, columns Ah 5 h / Ah 20 h / Ah 100 h, Manufacturer document, checked 16 September 2026 |
| Banner Energy Bull 968 01 Flooded · Deep cycle (maker’s term) · verified 16 September 2026 |
230 Ah, C20 Product page and technical data sheet lead with K20 = 230 Ah. |
180 Ah at C5 230 Ah at C20 250 Ah at C100 Peukert n 1.215 derived from C5 and C20 |
0% 5-hour figure 22% below |
Class B, NCC/VB/B/010: 230 Ah, 200 cycles at 50% DoD list October 2023; discharge rate not stated by the scheme |
|
Banner Technical Data Sheet – Energy Bull 968 01 (Document DBTBAT00339), Electrical data, Manufacturer document, checked 16 September 2026 |
| Exide Equipment GEL ES1200 Gel · Not stated · verified 16 September 2026 |
110 Ah, C20 Product page states "Capacity 110.0 Ah" without a rate; the Exide range leaflet heads the same column "Capacity Ah (20h)". Retail name "G110". |
110 Ah at C20 | 0% | Class A, NCC/VB/A/077: 110 Ah, 600 cycles at 50% DoD list October 2023; discharge rate not stated by the scheme |
|
Exide – All Ranges Battery Solutions (full range leaflet, Marine and Leisure type list), MARINE AND LEISURE TYPE LIST – EQUIPMENT GEL; columns Code / Wh* / Capacity Ah (20h) / CCA (EN) / L W H (mm) / Box Type / Hold down, Manufacturer document, checked 16 September 2026 |
| Exide Equipment GEL ES1300 Gel · Not stated · verified 16 September 2026 |
120 Ah, C20 Product page states "Capacity 120.0 Ah" without a rate; the Exide range leaflet heads the same column "Capacity Ah (20h)". Retail name "G120". |
120 Ah at C20 | 0% | Class A, NCC/VB/A/077: 120 Ah, 800 cycles at 50% DoD list October 2023; discharge rate not stated by the scheme |
|
Exide – All Ranges Battery Solutions (full range leaflet, Marine and Leisure type list), MARINE AND LEISURE TYPE LIST – EQUIPMENT GEL; columns Code / Wh* / Capacity Ah (20h) / CCA (EN) / L W H (mm) / Box Type / Hold down, Manufacturer document, checked 16 September 2026 |
| Fogstar Drift 12V 105Ah Lithium Leisure Battery LiFePO4 · Not stated · verified 16 September 2026 |
105 Ah, rate not stated Fogstar states "Nominal Capacity 105Ah" with no discharge rate. |
105 Ah (rate not stated) | cannot be compared: no 20-hour or faster rate published | Not on the lists checked |
|
Fogstar Drift 105 Specification (sheet linked from the product page), FULL SPECIFICATIONS – CELL INFORMATION, Manufacturer document, checked 16 September 2026 |
| Lucas LX31MF Leisure Battery 105Ah Flooded · Dual purpose (maker’s term) · verified 16 September 2026 |
105 Ah, rate not stated The Lucas sheet heads the column simply "AH"; no rate is stated. |
105 Ah (rate not stated) | cannot be compared: no 20-hour or faster rate published | Class B, NCC/VB/B/013: 105 Ah, 220 cycles at 50% DoD list October 2023; discharge rate not stated by the scheme |
|
Lucas Leisure & Marine Battery Data Sheet – Lucas Supreme Leisure/Marine – Sealed MF (LX range), Lucas Supreme Leisure/Marine - Sealed MF; columns Reference / ETN / AH / CCA (EN) / L (mm) / W (mm) / H (mm) / Weight Kg / Layout / Terminal / Hold Down, Manufacturer document, checked 16 September 2026 (maker’s document read on a distributor server) |
| Numax LV26MF Sealed Leisure Battery Flooded · Not stated · verified 16 September 2026 |
100 Ah, C20 Catalogue column "Ah. Cap. @20hr rate" = 100; Tayna sells the LV26MF as "12V 95Ah". |
100 Ah at C20 | 0% | Class C, NCC/VB/C/048: 100 Ah, 75 cycles at 50% DoD list October 2023; discharge rate not stated by the scheme |
|
Numax battery catalogue (Manbat/Ecobat Battery UK house brand catalogue) – Battery specifications special types, Numax sealed leisure and marine range; columns Type / Ah. Cap. @20hr rate / E.N. Cold start / Bench charge AMPS / L (mm) W (mm) H (mm) / Weight Kg / Layout / Terminals / Base holdown / Notes, Manufacturer document, checked 16 September 2026 (maker’s document read on a distributor server) |
| Numax XV31MF Sealed Leisure Battery Flooded · Not stated · verified 16 September 2026 |
110 Ah, C20 Catalogue column "Ah. Cap. @20hr rate" = 110; Tayna sells the XV31MF as "12V 105Ah (CXV31MF)". |
110 Ah at C20 | 0% | Not on the lists checked |
|
Numax battery catalogue (Manbat/Ecobat Battery UK house brand catalogue) – Battery specifications special types, Numax CXV sealed leisure and marine range; columns Type / Ah. Cap. @20hr rate / E.N. Cold start / Bench charge AMPS / L (mm) W (mm) H (mm) / Weight Kg / Layout / Terminals / Base holdown / Notes, Manufacturer document, checked 16 September 2026 (maker’s document read on a distributor server) |
| Platinum LB6110L Leisure Battery 12V 100Ah Flooded · Not stated · verified 16 September 2026 |
100 Ah, C20 Guide column "Ah (C20)" = 100. |
100 Ah at C20 | 0% | Class C, NCC/VB/C/020: 100 Ah, 70 cycles at 50% DoD list October 2023; discharge rate not stated by the scheme |
|
Platinum Leisure Product Guide (Platinum International), BATTERY SELECTOR - BY BOX SIZE; columns PRODUCT RANGE / PRODUCT REFERENCE / LIFE CYCLES @50% DOD / L (MM) / W (MM) / H (MM) / Ah (C20) / V / LAYOUT / TERMINAL / HOLD DOWN / NCC CLASS, Manufacturer document, checked 16 September 2026 (maker’s document read on a distributor server) |
| Renogy Core Mini 12.8V 100Ah Lithium Iron Phosphate Battery LiFePO4 · Not stated · verified 16 September 2026 |
100 Ah, rate not stated Renogy states "Rated Capacity 100Ah (0.5C, 25℃)": the rate is a 2-hour (0.5C) discharge, which the schema's rate list does not include, so it is recorded as unstated with the wording kept here. |
100 Ah (rate not stated) | cannot be compared: no 20-hour or faster rate published | Not on the lists checked |
|
Renogy UK – Core Mini 12.8V 100Ah Lithium Iron Phosphate Battery (product page, Specs tab), Specs – Specification table, Manufacturer document, checked 16 September 2026 |
| Roamer 105SMART5 MAX 12.8V 105Ah LiFePO4 LiFePO4 · Not stated · verified 16 September 2026 |
105 Ah, rate not stated Datasheet: "Nominal Capacity CN Typical 105 Max 116 Ah"; no discharge rate stated. |
105 Ah (rate not stated) | cannot be compared: no 20-hour or faster rate published | Not on the lists checked |
|
Roamer 105SMART5 MAX 12.8V 105AH 300A LiFePO4 – Datasheet, Battery Specification, Manufacturer document, checked 16 September 2026 |
| Trojan 27TMX 12V Deep-Cycle Flooded Battery Flooded · Deep cycle (maker’s term) · verified 16 September 2026 |
105 Ah, C20 Trojan lists all four rates side by side; the 20-Hr figure is 105 Ah. Tayna markets it by the 5-hour figure ("85Ah (C5)"). |
85 Ah at C5 97 Ah at C10 105 Ah at C20 117 Ah at C100 Peukert n 1.235 derived from C5 and C10 |
0% 5-hour figure 19% below |
Not on the lists checked |
|
Trojan Battery Company – Data Sheet MOTIVE 27TMX, ELECTRICAL SPECIFICATIONS, Manufacturer document, checked 16 September 2026 |
| Victron AGM Deep Cycle Battery 12V 110Ah AGM · Deep cycle (maker’s term) · verified 16 September 2026 |
110 Ah, C20 Datasheet: "The rated capacity of Victron AGM and Gel Deep Cycle batteries refers to 20 hour discharge, in other words: a discharge current of 0,05 C." |
110 Ah at C20 | 0% | Not on the lists checked |
|
Victron Energy datasheet – Gel and AGM Batteries, 12 Volt Deep Cycle AGM table, columns Article number / Ah / V / l x w x h mm / Weight kg, Manufacturer document, checked 16 September 2026 |
| Victron Gel Deep Cycle Battery 12V 110Ah Gel · Deep cycle (maker’s term) · verified 16 September 2026 |
110 Ah, C20 Datasheet: "The rated capacity of Victron AGM and Gel Deep Cycle batteries refers to 20 hour discharge, in other words: a discharge current of 0,05 C." |
110 Ah at C20 | 0% | Not on the lists checked |
No UK retailer link recorded. |
Victron Energy datasheet – Gel and AGM Batteries, 12 Volt Deep Cycle GEL table, columns Article number / Ah / V / l x w x h mm / Weight kg, Manufacturer document, checked 16 September 2026 |
| Victron Lithium Battery Smart 12,8V/100Ah LiFePO4 · Not stated · verified 16 September 2026 |
100 Ah, rate not stated Victron states "Nominal capacity @ 25 °C* 100 Ah" with footnote "* Discharge current ≤1C"; no C-rate label such as C20 is given. |
100 Ah (rate not stated) | cannot be compared: no 20-hour or faster rate published | Not on the lists checked |
No UK retailer link recorded. |
Victron Energy datasheet – 12,8 & 25,6 Volt Lithium-Iron-Phosphate Batteries Smart, Battery specification table, column LFP-Smart 12,8/100, Manufacturer document, checked 16 September 2026 |
| Yuasa L36-AGM YBX Active Leisure AGM 12V 95Ah AGM · Not stated · verified 16 September 2026 |
95 Ah, C20 Page title "12V 95Ah 850A(EN)"; table states "Capacity (20hr) 95 Ah". |
95 Ah at C20 | 0% | Class A, NCC/VB/A/017: 95 Ah, 429 cycles at 50% DoD list October 2023; discharge rate not stated by the scheme |
|
GS Yuasa UK – 12V 95Ah 850A(EN) - YBX Active® Leisure AGM series battery (L36-AGM product page), Specification tab, Manufacturer document, checked 16 September 2026 |
| Yuasa L36-EFB YBX Active Leisure EFB 12V 100Ah EFB · Not stated · verified 16 September 2026 |
100 Ah, C20 Page title "12V 100Ah 850A(EN)"; table states "Capacity (20hr) 100 Ah". |
100 Ah at C20 | 0% | Class B, NCC/VB/B/026: 100 Ah, 223 cycles at 50% DoD list October 2023; discharge rate not stated by the scheme |
|
GS Yuasa UK – 12V 100Ah 850A(EN) - YBX Active® Leisure EFB series battery (L36-EFB product page), Specification tab, Manufacturer document, checked 16 September 2026 |
Completeness bars show how many specification groups each maker publishes. Roughly 40% absence for supermarket and own-brand batteries is expected; a brand that publishes nothing is telling the buyer something.
Common questions
Does this checker send my appliance list or battery figures anywhere?
No. The arithmetic runs inside your browser on the published dataset it downloads. There is no form submission, no request carrying your numbers and no analytics on them. Nothing you type is stored or sent by this site.
Why does the checker divide by 50% for a lead-acid battery?
Lead-acid usable capacity = nameplate x 50% depth of discharge. The 50% figure is the depth of discharge the NCC Verified Leisure Battery Scheme uses to rate every class of leisure battery, and Victron describes it as 'generally accepted'. It is an industry convention with a UK scheme's test basis behind it, not a standard. Victron’s wording: “NCC Verified leisure batteries are tested by the manufacturer and verified by the NCC taking into account their minimum capacity minimum and their minimum life cycles at 50% depth of discharge, into 1 of 3 classes.” (checked 16 September 2026).
Why 80% for LiFePO4?
LiFePO4 usable capacity = nameplate x 80% depth of discharge as the economic working figure. Victron states 80% DOD is used for LFP, and its LFP Smart datasheet publishes cycle life at 80%, 70% and 50% DoD (2500 / 3000 / 5000 cycles to 80% of nominal capacity). Deeper discharge is survivable but costs cycles. Source: “For Lithium-iron-phosphate (LiFePO4 or LFP) which is the safest of the mainstream Li-ion battery types, 80% DOD is used.” (Victron Energy blog: Batteries: Lithium-ion vs AGM (John Rushworth), checked 16 September 2026).
Why is the answer given at the 20-hour rate (C20)?
Because the number on the box is often not the 20-hour figure. Banner publishes its 957 51 as 110 Ah at the 100-hour rate, 100 Ah at the 20-hour rate and 75 Ah at the 5-hour rate (Banner Technical Data Sheet – Energy Bull 957 51 (Document DBTBAT00339), checked 16 September 2026). The advertised 100 Ah is 0% above the 20-hour figure. Stating the rate makes batteries comparable; 5 of the 19 indexed batteries publish more than one rate.
Does the checker apply a duty cycle to the fridge?
No manufacturer in the index publishes a duty cycle, so the checker never assumes one. Where a maker publishes an average, such as Dometic’s 1.1 Ah/h for the CRX 50 at +25 °C ambient, the average is used as published. Thetford is the only maker in the index that names a test standard for its daily figure: “IEC62552-2020 part 3”. Where only a rated (running) current is published, the line is shown as an upper bound and labelled.
Why does the checker refuse to use the fridge manual’s 5.0 A figure?
Dometic's CRX 50 installation and operating manual publishes 'Rated current 12 V⎓: 5.0 A'. That is the current while the compressor runs, about 4.5 times the catalogue average of 1.1 Ah/h. This checker uses the catalogue average and never lets the 5.0 A figure reach the daily total. Calculators seeded from the manual will tell you to buy a bank roughly four times too big.
Does the checker reduce lead-acid capacity for cold weather?
No, because no manufacturer publishes it as a number. No manufacturer publishes a numeric lead-acid temperature derate table in the documents read on 2026-09-16 (Victron Gel/AGM datasheet section 8 and GS Yuasa NP Application Manual Figure 7 are graphs only). Brief rule 8: never read a number off a graph. The checker reports the direction of the effect and says the figure is not published.
What is the Peukert exponent and where does 1.25 come from?
Where a lead-acid battery publishes only one capacity rating the checker uses Victron's default Peukert exponent of 1.25 and labels it as the manufacturer's approximate default for 'most lead acid batteries', never as this battery's figure. Victron's own caveat that the exponent is 'no more than a rough approximation of reality' is carried with it. Victron: “The default setting in the battery monitor for the Peukert exponent is 1.25. This is an acceptable average value for most lead acid batteries.” (checked 16 September 2026). Where a battery publishes two capacity ratings the checker derives the battery’s own exponent from them instead, and says so.
Where next
- Split charge relay or DC-DC charger? Whether your alternator can charge the battery this checker sized.
- Mains chargers by published charge profile: the route to a full charge on hook-up or at home.
- Methodology: the evidence grades, the absence line and the freshness ladder.
- Corrections: if a maker’s document says something different, send the URL.
Cable sizing and fuse sizing are deliberately not on this site. The voltage-drop figures repeated across the UK campervan web trace to a US marine standard and one manufacturer’s house recommendation; the European standard for 12 V DC installations in leisure vehicles (BS EN 1648) has not yet been read here. Until it has, each charger record links the maker’s own cable and fuse table instead.
This site publishes what manufacturers and standards bodies have published. It does not design electrical installations and is not a substitute for a competent auto electrician or a habitation check.